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House Bill Nos. 263 and 264 -- Requiring Health Insurers to Disclose
Preauthorization and Pre-approval Requirements and Estimated
Covered and Out-of-pocket Costs for Certain Health Care Services

The 2009 Montana Legislature passed House Bill 264 revising §§ 33-22-244 and 33-22-
521, Montana Code Annotated (MCA) to require that each individual and group
disability [health] insurance policy's outline of coverage must have "a description of any
preauthorization or other preapproval requirements for medical care." This new
disclosure is in addition to the other disclosure requirements that already exist, which
include a description of the insured's financial responsibility under the policy or
certificate, such as deductibles, copayments and maximum annual out-of-pocket
expenses. The maximum annual out-of-pocket disclosure should include a description
of the items that are credited towards that maximum and those that are excluded from
that calculation.

House Bill 264 also includes the “Patient’s Right to Know of Insurance Coverage
Provisions Act,” which is codified in Title 50, chapter 4, part 5, MCA. This Act provides
that upon request from an insured or the insured’s agent, health insurers must provide a
written or electronic summary of the insured’'s coverage for a specific health care
service or course of treatment when the actual charge or estimate of charges from the
heaith care provider exceeds $500.
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The 2009 Montana Legislature also passed House Bill 263, known as the “Patient’s
Right to Know the Costs of Medical Procedures Act.” This Act is also codified in Title
30, chapter 4, part 5, MCA and it provides that upon request by a patient or the patient's
agent, health care providers must furnish a good faith written or electronic estimate of
the anticipated charges for a health care service or course of treatment that exceeds
$500 within 10 business days of the request.

House Bill 264 will be effective on January 1, 2010. House Bill 263 will be effective on
October 1, 2009. Please submit all changes to forms required by 2009 legislative
changes that are effective January 1, 2010, by October 1, 20009, or before, in order to
avoid delays in form review. All policy and certificate forms issued for delivery in
Montana must be approved by the CSI before use. In any event, forms must be filed at
least 60 days before the date of intended use. Therefore, health insurers must amend,
endorse, or re-file all health insurance policies and certificates with the Forms Bureau of
the CSI no later than November 1, 2009, for a January 1, 2010 effective date.

If you have questions about the content of this memorandum, please contact Christina
L. Goe, Chief Legal Counsel at 406-444-2040 or at cgoe@mt.gov.

If you have questions about filing forms, please contact Rosann Grandy, Forms Bureau
Chief at 406-444-2040 or at rgrandy@mt.gov.
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