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Dear Fellow Montanan: 
 
I am pleased to provide you with the Montana 2016 

Automobile Insurance Rate Comparison Guide.   

One of my goals as Commissioner of Securities & 

Insurance is to help you be an informed buyer.  I 

believe in order to maintain a healthy, competitive 

marketplace, it is critically important to provide 

consumers with the resources they need to compare 

insurance rates. 

This guide gives you a general idea of the premium rates charged in Montana.  

For more specific information, you must contact the individual insurance 

companies.  

Comparison shopping takes time, but can save you money. Use this guide to   

narrow the choice of insurers or agents you may want to contact. Shop 

carefully and contact the CSI if you have any questions or need additional 

assistance. Our knowledgeable staff is available to help you with a wide range 

of insurance issues. Please call the consumer hotline at 1-800-332-6148 or 

from Helena at 444-2040. You will also find more information on our web site 

at www.csimt.gov. 

Sincerely,  

 
 
 
 
 

Monica J. Lindeen 

Office of the Montana State Auditor 

Commissioner of Securities & Insurance 

  

http://www.csimt.gov/


 

This guide compares how much a Montana driver might pay for auto liability 

insurance coverage in nine different geographic areas: Billings, Bozeman, Butte, 

Great Falls, Helena, Kalispell, Missoula, Scobey and Thompson Falls.  

Fourteen of the auto liability insurance companies that write the most insurance in 

Montana chose to participate in our survey and their sample rates are featured on 

pages 7- 13. 

For further information, please refer to the CSI publication Montana 

Consumer Guide to Auto Insurance at www.csimt.gov/your-insurance/auto. 

(Or request a hard copy by calling 1-800-332-6148.) 

  
How to use this guide 
 

The premium quotes from the insurance companies listed in this guide are: 

 Based on the amount you pay every six months. 

 Based on three years of driving experience. 

 Based on rates in effect as of January 1, 2016.  If a company’s rates 
have changed since then, these quotes may no longer be accurate.  
(Please keep in mind the premiums quoted are only examples. Your 
individual situation may include other factors that will be reflected 
in the premiums quoted to you.) 

 Based on the assumption that you are new to the company and not 
renewing an existing policy. 

 Based on a standard performance vehicle. 

 Based on the minimum required liability limits set by Montana law. 
($25,000 bodily injury coverage for one person, $50,000 bodily 
injury coverage for two or more people and $20,000 property 
damage coverage; $25,000 bodily injury coverage for one 
uninsured motorist person and $50,000 bodily injury coverage for 
two or more uninsured motorists is included.) 

 Based on the area for which they are written.  

About this guide 

http://www.csimt.gov/


Coverage 

State law sets minimum liability requirements for auto insurance. As 

previously noted, these limits are $25,000 bodily injury coverage for one 

person, $50,000 for coverage of bodily injury for 2 or more people, and 

effective January 1, 2016, $20,000 property damage coverage. Liability 

insurance covers you against damages you cause to others if you are at fault 

in an accident. It does NOT protect you against your own losses. 

Also, it is mandatory for the companies to offer uninsured motorist coverage, 

but you, the consumer, may reject this coverage. Consumers may want to 

consider higher liability limits than the state minimum, because the 

minimums may not cover your exposure to lawsuits.  

If you own a newer car, your bank will probably require you to buy 

Comprehensive and Collision coverage. However, the state’s minimum 

requirements do NOT include such coverage. There may also be other 

coverage you wish to consider that is not mandatory.   

Insurers 

Not every insurer will offer you coverage because different insurers have 

different requirements that must be met in order to become insured. 

Insurers set target “markets” that help them select the types of drivers they 

want to insure. There are three basic markets: non-standard, standard, and 

preferred. 

1. Non-standard markets (highest premiums) include drivers with less 

experience and numerous tickets or accidents. 

2. The standard market is for the average driver. 

3. The preferred market (lowest premiums) is available to low-risk 

drivers. 

 

  Need More Help?  

Professional consumer advocates are available to 
assist you on a wide-range of insurance issues. 
 

Call the CSI Insurance Hotline 

1-800-332-6148  

 

 



Seven different insurance scenarios are outlined below 
 

Find the example that best matches your situation. Refer to the 
corresponding chart on the following pages and find your geographic region. 
The chart accompanying each example outlines the quotes received from the 
fourteen insurers responding to our survey. 

 
Please note:  

 Coverage for all examples is: 25/50/20 liability; 25/50 uninsured motorist 

 The plans included in this guide are examples only 

 
 

EXAMPLE ONE 

These premiums apply to a 19-year-old who drives a 2010 Honda Civic sedan to and from work, eight 

miles each way, five days a week. Annual total mileage is 10,000. Driver has previous insurance with 

three years driving experience, but is no longer supported by parental insurance. 

   
A) Driver has no accidents or driving citations. 

B) Driver has one at-fault accident two years ago, on which the insurer paid $10,000 to settle and 
one minor speeding citation six months ago. 

 If example 1 most closely matches your insurance situation, refer to example 1 chart for sample 
rate quotes. 

 

EXAMPLE TWO 

These premiums apply to a single parent household with previous insurance, age 40, whose two 

teenagers, ages 16 and 17, are also drivers. The 40-year old drives a 2012 Ford Edge to and from work, 

less than 5 miles each way, five days a week, for an annual total mileage of 15,000. This driver has no 

accidents or driving citations. The 16-year-old is newly licensed, has no accidents or driving citations, 

and does not qualify for a good student discount. The 17-year old has been driving for two years, has no 

driving citations and qualifies for a good student discount. 

 
A) The 17-year-old drives a 2005 Chevrolet Malibu, to and from school, five miles each way, five 

days a week, with occasional driving on the weekends. The 16-year-old drives a 2000 
Volkswagen Passat sedan to and from school, five miles each way, five days a week, with 
occasional driving on the weekends. The total annual mileage on each vehicle is 5,000. 

B) The 17-year-old drives a 2005 Chevrolet Malibu, to and from school, five miles each way, five 
days a week, with occasional driving on the weekends. The 16-year-old drives a 2000 
Volkswagen Passat sedan to and from school, five miles each way, five days a week, with 
occasional driving on the weekends. The total annual mileage on each vehicle is 5,000. 
Neither of the two drivers has completed driver training.  

 If example 2 most closely matches your insurance situation, refer to example 2 chart for sample 

rate quotes.  

 



EXAMPLE THREE 

These premiums apply to a 27-year-old with previous insurance that drives a 2015 Kia Soul to and 

from work, 20 miles each way, five days a week, for an annual total mileage of 15,000. 

 
A) Driver has no accidents or driving citations. 

B) Driver has one major speeding citation one year ago. 

 If example 3 most closely matches your insurance situation, refer to example 3 chart for sample 
rate quotes. 

 

EXAMPLE FOUR 

These premiums apply to a two-person household, ages 30 and 35, whom have previous insurance.  

The 30-year-old drives a 2015 Subaru Forrester to and from work, 15 miles each way, five days a week, 

and has an annual total mileage of 15,000. The 35-year-old drives a 2013 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited to 

and from work, 20 miles each way, five days a week, for an annual total mileage of 20,000.  

  
A) Drivers have no accidents or driving citations. 

B) The 35-year-old has one major speeding citation one year ago, and the 30-year-old has no 
accidents or citations. 

 If example 4 most closely matches your insurance situation, refer to example 4 chart for sample 
rate quotes. 

 

EXAMPLE FIVE 

These premiums apply to a household with previous insurance, ages 42 and 45, whose two 

teenagers, ages 16 and 18, are also drivers. The 42-year-old drives a 2011 Toyota Camry to and from 

work, 15 miles each way, five days a week, for an annual total mileage of 20,000. This driver has no 

accidents or driving citations. The 45-year-old drives a 2014 Toyota 4 Runner to and from work, 10 

miles each way, five days a week, for an annual total mileage of 15,000. This driver had one at-fault 

accident two years ago, on which the insurer paid $5,000 to settle. The 16-year-old is newly licensed, 

has no driving citations, and qualifies for a good student discount. The 18-year-old has been driving for 

two years, has one major speeding citation in the last year, and does not qualify for a good student 

discount. 

 
A) The two teenagers share the third household vehicle, a 2006 Chevrolet Cobalt sedan. They 

drive to and from school together, five miles each way, five days a week, with occasional 
driving on the weekends. The driving is split equally between the two, for an annual total 
mileage of 8,000. 

B) The 16-year-old drives a 2002 Ford Focus sedan to and from school, five miles each way, five 
days a week. The 18-year-old drives a 2006 Chevrolet Cobalt sedan to and from school, five miles 
each way, five days a week. The annual total mileage is 5,000 on each vehicle. 

 If example 5 most closely matches your insurance situation, refer to example 5 chart for sample 
rate quotes. 

 

  



EXAMPLE SIX 

These premiums apply to a farming household with previous insurance, ages 48 and 50, whose three 

teenagers are also drivers. The 48-year-old drives a 2014 Nissan Pathfinder 4WD to and from work, 25 

miles each way, five days a week for an annual total mileage of 28,000. The 50-year-old drives a 2012 

GMC Sierra 3500 HD pickup for farm use only. The annual total mileage on this vehicle is 15,000. The 14 

and 15-year-old have valid operator’s licenses and drive a 1990 Ford F150 4WD pickup for farm use only, 

for an annual total mileage of 6,000. The 17-year-old drives a 2003 Ford Ranger to and from school, 20 

miles each way, five days a week for an annual total mileage of 12,000. All three teenagers qualify for a 

good student discount. 

 
A) None of the drivers have accidents or driving citations.   

B) The 50-year-old had an at-fault accident 2 years ago, on which the insurer paid $20,000. 
 

 If example 6 most closely matches your insurance situation, refer to example 6 chart for sample 
rate quotes. 

 

EXAMPLE SEVEN 

These premiums apply to a two-person household, both age 68, with previous insurance. They own a 

2016 Chevrolet Tahoe 4WD and use it for pleasure only. Neither have any accidents nor driving citations. 

Both drivers have completed a highway traffic safety program and qualify for the mandatory rate 

reduction. 

 
A) Annual total mileage is 5,000 miles. 

B) Annual total mileage is 10,000 miles. 

 If example 7 most closely matches your insurance situation, refer to example 7 chart for sample 
rate quotes. 

 

 

The following pages outline the rate quotes from insurers who chose to respond to our survey. 
The quotes correspond to each example illustrated for nine geographic regions in Montana. 



What to do if you are unable to obtain 
auto insurance  
 

A licensed agent can help you get insurance through the Montana 
Automobile Insurance Plan administered by the Western 
Association of Automobile Insurance Plans. However, this Plan 
should be a last resort because the premiums are generally 
higher than those sold by private companies. 
 

How to Shop for Auto Insurance  
Before buying insurance, consider contacting several insurance agents or companies to 

find the best combination of quality and price. Know what you want before you shop; 

you will be less likely to buy something you don’t need. And finally, ask several agents or 

companies for an annual premium quote for your auto. 

 

Shopping Tips 

 Be sure to tell your company or agent if the following information applies to you. You may be 
entitled to a lower premium. 

 Your auto has an anti-theft device, automatic seatbelts, and/or airbags. 

 Your auto is used for pleasure driving only and you do not drive it to work. 

 You are in a car pool and drive to work an average of no more than two days per week. 

 You drive a short distance to work. 

 You drive fewer than 7,500 miles per year. 

 You have had no accidents or violations. 

 You have successfully completed a driver education course.  

 You are a full-time student and your grade point average is 3.0 or above. 

 Many mutual companies pay dividends to their policyholders at the end of the year. However, 

dividend amounts are not guaranteed. 

 

 Do your shopping as far in advance as possible. This gives you time to consider more 

companies and prevents a hasty decision. Remember, if you change companies at a time other 

than the policy renewal date, you will be charged for the administrative costs of canceling the 

policy. 

 

 If you have been denied coverage by an insurance company due to an auto accident or traffic 

violation, try another company. Do not assume that you will be turned down by all 

companies. Different companies use different underwriting standards. If several companies 

turn you down, try some companies that have higher premiums. 

 
 

  

 
 
 
 



EXAMPLE ONE
These premiums apply to a 19-year-old who drives a 2010 Honda Civic sedan to and from work, eight miles each way, five days a week. Annual total mileage is
10,000. Driver has previous insurance with three years driving experience, but is no longer supported by parental insurance.  

Coverage:  25/50/20 Liability; 25/50 Uninsured Motorist
A) Driver has no accidents or driving citations.
B) Driver has one at-fault accident two years ago, on which the insurer paid $10,000 to settle, and one minor speeding citation six months ago.

A B A B A B A B A B A B A B A B A B

Allstate Fire & Casualty Insurance Co. $550 $839 $532 $810 $499 $754 $611 $945 $495 $750 $613 $948 $582 $894 $432 $641 $613 $948

Depositors Insurance Co. $707 $867 $573 $699 $752 $922 $723 $886 $590 $720 $636 $777 $591 $721 $564 $687 $690 $844

Farmers Alliance Mutual Insurance Co. $500 $680 $381 $516 $470 $636 $470 $636 $485 $657 $381 $516 $485 $657 $329 $442 $381 $516

Mid-Century Insurance Co. $508 $539 $462 $492 $426 $456 $497 $532 $475 $507 $495 $532 $475 $507 $364 $390 $495 $532

Mountain West Farm Bureau Mutual Ins. $530 $796 $439 $658 $470 $705 $529 $795 $518 $779 $585 $881 $569 $856 $421 $631 $473 $710

Progressive Direct Insurance  Co. $724 $933 $571 $729 $632 $810 $657 $844 $597 $764 $666 $857 $677 $871 $482 $610 $553 $706

Progressive Northwestern Insurance  Co. $786 $1,041 $596 $788 $668 $885 $700 $927 $628 $832 $708 $940 $726 $962 $487 $644 $572 $759

Safeco Insurance Co. $593 $771 $478 $622 $535 $694 $560 $729 $516 $669 $590 $762 $557 $722 $419 $542 $502 $647

State Farm Fire & Casualty Insurance Co. $555 $1,062 $428 $818 $565 $1,080 $612 $1,170 $465 $887 $546 $1,044 $549 $1,050 $328 $656 $530 $1,013

State Farm Mutual Auto Insurance Co. $500 $609 $386 $470 $508 $620 $551 $672 $418 $509 $492 $599 $494 $602 $295 $359 $477 $581

Travelers Insurance Co. $529 $684 $427 $547 $431 $552 $568 $733 $453 $580 $480 $616 $507 $654 $343 $434 $383 $485

Trinity Universal Insurance Co. $677 N/A $654 N/A $719 N/A $700 N/A $634 N/A $736 N/A $659 N/A $739 N/A $612 N/A

United Service Automobile Assoc. $338 $469 $290 $401 $299 $415 $327 $454 $283 $392 $318 $441 $310 $431 $239 $331 $267 $370

USAA Casualty Insurance Co. $350 $487 $300 $416 $311 $431 $339 $471 $294 $407 $330 $459 $322 $447 $248 $343 $277 $384

Please note: The above premiums reflect surveys completed by the insurers and only those insurers who chose to respond to the survey are included. 

Kalispell Missoula

N/A  Indicates that a company would not write the risk. 

Billings Helena ScobeyBozeman Butte Great Falls

Thompson 

Falls

  2016 Automobile Insurance Rate Comparison Guide



EXAMPLE TWO
These premiums apply to a single parent household with previous insurance, age 40, whose two teenage children, ages 16 and 17, are also drivers. 
The 40-year-old drives a 2012 Ford Edge to and from work, less than 5 miles each way, five days a week, for an annual total mileage of
15,000.  This driver has no accidents or driving citations.  The 16-year-old is newly licensed, has no accidents or driving citations, and does not 
 qualify for a good student discount. The 17-year-old has been driving for two years, has no driving citations and qualifies for a good student discount.

Coverage:  25/50/20 Liability; 25/50 Uninsured Motorist
A) The 17-year-old drives a 2005 Chevrolet Malibu, to and from school, five miles each way, five days a week, with occasional driving on the
weekends. The 16-year-old drives a 2000 Volkswagen Passat sedan to and from school, five miles each way, five days a week, with occasional driving on the
weekends. The total annual mileage on each vehicle is 5,000.
B) The 17-year-old drives a 2005 Chevrolet Malibu, to and from school, five miles each way, five days a week, with occasional driving on the
weekends. The 16-year-old drives a 2000 Volkswagen Passat sedan to and from school, five miles each way, five days a week, with occasional driving on the
weekends. The total annual mileage on each vehicle is 5,000. Neither of the two drivers has completed driver training.

A B A B A B A B A B A B A B A B A B

Allstate Fire & Casualty Insurance Co. $1,616 $1,616 $1,563 $1,563 $1,465 $1,465 $1,856 $1,856 $1,452 $1,452 $1,862 $1,862 $1,743 $1,743 $1,222 $1,222 $1,862 $1,862

Depositors Insurance Co. $1,121 $1,121 $921 $921 $1,198 $1,198 $1,152 $1,152 $947 $947 $1,016 $1,016 $947 $947 $907 $907 $1,099 $1,099

Farmers Alliance Mutual Insurance Co. $952 $1,033 $722 $782 $892 $965 $892 $965 $918 $997 $722 $782 $918 $997 $615 $668 $722 $782

Mid-Century Insurance Co. $1,242 $1,242 $1,133 $1,133 $1,050 $1,050 $1,226 $1,226 $1,168 $1,168 $1,227 $1,227 $1,168 $1,168 $899 $899 $1,227 $1,227

Mountain West Farm Bureau Mutual Ins. $1,146 $1,146 $952 $952 $1,017 $1,017 $1,144 $1,144 $1,121 $1,121 $1,264 $1,264 $1,229 $1,229 $913 $913 $1,024 $1,024

Progressive Direct Insurance Co. $1,639 $1,639 $1,260 $1,260 $1,409 $1,409 $1,471 $1,471 $1,329 $1,329 $1,493 $1,493 $1,526 $1,526 $1,049 $1,049 $1,225 $1,225

Progressive Northwestern Insurance Co. $1,863 $1,863 $1,403 $1,403 $1,582 $1,582 $1,659 $1,659 $1,487 $1,487 $1,682 $1,682 $1,726 $1,726 $1,149 $1,149 $1,361 $1,361

Safeco Insurance Co. $758 $789 $595 $619 $663 $690 $707 $736 $646 $672 $742 $773 $696 $724 $517 $538 $617 $642

State Farm Fire & Casualty Insurance Co. $1,226 $1,226 $946 $946 $1,246 $1,246 $1,350 $1,350 $1,026 $1,026 $1,205 $1,205 $1,211 $1,211 $726 $726 $1,169 $1,169

State Farm Mutual Auto Insurance Co. $1,103 $1,103 $852 $852 $1,121 $1,121 $1,215 $1,215 $924 $924 $1,085 $1,085 $1,091 $1,091 $654 $654 $1,052 $1,052

Travelers Insurance Co. $1,283 $1,325 $1,012 $1,048 $1,019 $1,053 $1,374 $1,419 $1,073 $1,107 $1,142 $1,180 $1,220 $1,258 $784 $810 $879 $905

Trinity Universal Insurance Co. $1,282 $1,358 $1,239 $1,315 $1,362 $1,444 $1,352 $1,404 $1,208 $1,280 $1,395 $1,479 $1,251 $1,326 $1,399 $1,484 $1,166 $1,237

United Service Automobile Assoc. $1,082 $1,125 $926 $963 $955 $993 $1,040 $1,082 $903 $939 $1,006 $1,046 $992 $1,032 $766 $796 $853 $887

USAA Casualty Insurance Co. $1,093 $1,136 $936 $973 $966 $1,004 $1,053 $1,094 $914 $950 $1,020 $1,060 $1,003 $1,043 $775 $805 $863 $897

Please note: The above premiums reflect surveys completed by the insurers and only those insurers who chose to respond to the survey are included.

Kalispell MissoulaHelenaBillings Bozeman Butte ScobeyGreat Falls

Thompson 

Falls
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EXAMPLE THREE
These premiums apply to a 27-year-old with previous insurance that drives a 2015 Kia Soul to and from work, 20 miles each way, five days a 
week, for an annual total mileage of 15,000.

Coverage:  25/50/20 Liability; 25/50 Uninsured Motorist
A) Driver has no accidents or driving citations.
B) Driver has one major speeding citation one year ago.

A B A B A B A B A B A B A B A B A B

Allstate Fire & Casualty Insurance Co. $242 $263 $238 $258 $231 $249 $259 $283 $227 $245 $261 $285 $252 $275 $211 $226 $261 $285

Depositors Insurance Co. $324 $365 $272 $305 $342 $387 $332 $374 $279 $313 $297 $334 $279 $313 $268 $300 $318 $358

Farmers Alliance Mutual Insurance Co. $426 $1,249 $327 $943 $399 $1,167 $399 $1,167 $413 $1,206 $327 $943 $413 $1,206 $282 $804 $327 $943

Mid-Century Insurance Co. $235 $251 $215 $231 $201 $217 $234 $253 $222 $239 $236 $256 $222 $239 $172 $185 $236 $256

Mountain West Farm Bureau Mutual Ins. $229 N/A $192 N/A $204 N/A $228 N/A $223 N/A $250 N/A $243 N/A $185 N/A $205 N/A

Progressive Direct Insurance Co. $278 $372 $234 $305 $251 $331 $258 $343 $241 $315 $262 $347 $264 $350 $207 $266 $228 $297

Progressive Northwestern Insurance Co. $233 $311 $181 $239 $202 $268 $210 $280 $189 $251 $213 $283 $217 $288 $150 $198 $173 $231

Safeco Insurance Co. $225 $278 $186 $229 $206 $256 $214 $265 $199 $247 $226 $280 $214 $265 $166 $204 $196 $243

State Farm Fire & Casualty Insurance Co. $243 $293 $188 $227 $247 $298 $267 $322 $204 $246 $239 $288 $240 $290 $145 $176 $532 $280

State Farm Mutual Auto Insurance Co. $219 $242 $170 $188 $222 $246 $241 $266 $184 $203 $215 $238 $216 $239 $131 $145 $209 $231

Travelers Insurance Co. $304 $378 $252 $309 $255 $313 $326 $408 $266 $329 $283 $351 $295 $367 $212 $256 $232 $285

Trinity Universal Insurance Co. $310 N/A $300 N/A $328 N/A $320 N/A $292 N/A $335 N/A $302 N/A $337 N/A $283 N/A

United Service Automobile Assoc. $132 $152 $114 $131 $117 $134 $126 $145 $111 $128 $121 $139 $122 $140 $96 $110 $106 $121

USAA Casualty Insurance Co. $133 $153 $115 $132 $118 $135 $127 $146 $112 $129 $122 $140 $122 $141 $97 $111 $106 $122

N/A indicates that a company would not write the risk

Please note: The above premiums reflect surveys completed by the insurers and only those insurers who chose to respond to the survey are included.

Billings Bozeman Butte Scobey

Thompson 

FallsHelena Kalispell MissoulaGreat Falls

  2016 Automobile Insurance Rate Comparison Guide



EXAMPLE FOUR
These premiums apply to a two-person household, ages 30 and 35, whom have previous insurance. The 30-year-old drives a 2015 Subaru Forrester to
and from work, 15 miles each way, five days a week, and has an annual total mileage of 15,000. The 35-year-old drives a 2013 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited to 
and from work, 20 miles each way, five days a week, for an annual total mileage of 20,000.

Coverage:  25/50/20 Liability; 25/50 Uninsured Motorist
A) Drivers have no accidents or driving citations.
B) The 35-year-old has one major speeding citation one year ago, and the 30-year-old has no accidents or citations.

A B A B A B A B A B A B A B A B A B

Allstate Fire & Casualty Insurance Co. $286 $304 $279 $296 $268 $283 $301 $321 $261 $276 $305 $324 $297 $315 $245 $258 $305 $324

Depositors Insurance $385 $412 $326 $347 $405 $434 $391 $418 $333 $355 $350 $373 $332 $354 $322 $343 $373 $399

Farmers Alliance Mutual Insurance Co. $565 $1,120 $429 $845 $529 $1,047 $529 $1,047 $547 $1,081 $429 $845 $547 $1,081 $369 $723 $429 $845

Mid-Century Insurance Co. $273 $281 $248 $257 $230 $239 $268 $278 $256 $265 $269 $279 $256 $265 $197 $204 $269 $279

Mountain West Farm Bureau Mutual Ins. $421 N/A $355 N/A $377 N/A $421 N/A $412 N/A $461 N/A $449 N/A $341 N/A $379 N/A

Progressive Direct Insurance Co. $403 $512 $330 $413 $358 $452 $371 $468 $341 $429 $377 $473 $379 $479 $286 $353 $321 $398

Progressive Northwestern Insurance Co. $378 $467 $291 $357 $325 $398 $339 $416 $305 $375 $343 $421 $350 $430 $239 $293 $278 $341

Safeco Insurance Co. $276 $318 $223 $256 $246 $283 $260 $299 $239 $275 $270 $312 $256 $295 $196 $225 $229 $264

State Farm Fire & Casualty Insurance Co. $406 $450 $315 $350 $413 $457 $447 $494 $341 $378 $400 $443 $402 $445 $244 $271 $388 $430

State Farm Mutual Auto Insurance Co. $366 $405 $284 $314 $372 $411 $402 $445 $307 $340 $360 $398 $362 $400 $220 $243 $349 $387

Travelers Insurance Co. $382 $493 $313 $398 $315 $401 $404 $527 $327 $421 $346 $449 $366 $475 $254 $321 $279 $357

Trinity Universal Insurance Co. $420 $765 $407 $739 $442 $807 $432 $787 $395 $717 $453 $829 $409 $744 $453 $832 $386 $696

United Service Automobile Assoc. $268 $290 $232 $251 $237 $257 $255 $277 $226 $244 $245 $265 $247 $267 $196 $212 $214 $232

USAA Casualty Insurance Co. $270 $293 $235 $254 $240 $260 $258 $280 $228 $247 $248 $269 $249 $270 $198 $214 $217 $235

N/A indicates that a company would not write the risk

Please note: The above premiums reflect surveys completed by the insurers and only those insurers who chose to respond to the survey are included.

Thompson 

FallsScobeyKalispell MissoulaHelenaBozeman Butte Great FallsBillings
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EXAMPLE FIVE
These premiums apply to a household with previous insurance, ages 42 and 45, whose two teenage children, ages 16 and 18, are also drivers.  The 
42-year-old drives a 2011 Toyota Camry to and from work, 15 miles each way, five days a week, for an annual total mileage of 20,000.  This driver     
has no accidents or driving citations.  The 45-year-old drives a 2014 Toyota 4 Runner to and from work, 10 miles each way, five days a week, 
for an annual total mileage of 15,000. This driver had one at-fault accident two years ago, on which the insurer paid $5,000 to settle. The 16-year-old
is newly licensed, has no driving citations, and qualifies for a good student discount. The 18-year-old has been driving for two years, has one major
speeding citation in the last year, and does not qualify for a good student discount.

Coverage:  25/50/20 Liability; 25/50 Uninsured Motorist
A)  The two teenagers share the third household vehicle, a 2006 Chevrolet Cobalt sedan. They drive to and from school together, five miles each way, five days a
 week, with occasional driving on the weekends. The driving is split equally between the two, for an annual total mileage of 8,000.
B)  The 16-year-old drives a 2002 Ford Focus sedan, to and from school, five miles each way, five days a week. The 18-year-old drives a 2006 Chevrolet Cobalt
sedan to and from school, five miles each way, five days a week. The total annual mileage on each vehicle is 5,000.

A B A B A B A B A B A B A B A B A B

Allstate Fire & Casualty Insurance Co. $1,429 $1,913 $1,374 $1,839 $1,273 $1,702 $1,605 $2,157 $1,260 $1,684 $1,613 $2,167 $1,522 $2,042 $1,075 $1,430 $1,613 $2,167

Depositors Insurance Co. $1,414 $1,717 $1,145 $1,400 $1,499 $1,832 $1,443 $1,762 $1,179 $1,441 $1,269 $1,549 $1,180 $1,441 $1,128 $1,379 $1,376 $1,680

Farmers Alliance Mutual Insurance Co. $982 $1,298 $744 $982 $922 $1,216 $922 $1,216 $948 $1,255 $744 $982 $948 $1,255 $636 $838 $744 $982

Mid-Century Insurance Co. $1,074 $1,435 $980 $1,309 $912 $1,215 $1,031 $1,418 $1,012 $1,349 $1,067 $1,420 $1,012 $1,349 $780 $1,039 $1,067 $1,420

Mountain West Farm Bureau Mutual Ins. N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Progressive Direct Insurance Co. $2,149 $2,421 $1,640 $1,846 $1,840 $2,075 $1,923 $2,172 $1,732 $1,954 $1,950 $2,208 $1,998 $2,260 $1,358 $1,535 $1,592 $1,812

Progressive Northwestern Insurance Co. $2,378 $2,674 $1,787 $2,012 $2,018 $2,278 $2,116 $2,389 $1,896 $2,140 $2,149 $2,434 $2,205 $2,496 $1,466 $1,659 $1,741 $1,982

Safeco Insurance Co. $1,229 $1,312 $958 $1,021 $1,070 $1,140 $1,144 $1,220 $1,043 $1,113 $1,202 $1,284 $1,125 $1,200 $830 $884 $993 $1,060

State Farm Fire & Casualty Insurance Co. $1,342 $1,651 $1,037 $1,265 $1,364 $1,664 $1,477 $1,803 $1,124 $1,371 $1,320 $1,611 $1,326 $1,619 $796 $973 $1,280 $1,562

State Farm Mutual Auto Insurance Co. $1,138 $1,477 $878 $1,141 $1,157 $1,502 $1,253 $1,627 $952 $1,237 $1,119 $1,453 $1,125 $1,460 $674 $876 $1,086 $1,409

Travelers Insurance Co. $1,866 $1,914 $1,463 $1,504 $1,482 $1,522 $2,037 $2,088 $1,571 $1,609 $1,701 $1,743 $1,794 $1,842 $1,137 $1,168 $1,303 $1,334

Trinity Universal Insurance Co. N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

United Service Automobile Assoc. $808 $1,306 $694 $1,120 $714 $1,153 $775 $1,255 $676 $1,092 $749 $1,212 $742 $1,199 $577 $928 $640 $1,032

USAA Casualty Insurance Co. $816 $1,320 $702 $1,133 $723 $1,167 $785 $1,270 $685 $1,105 $759 $1,229 $750 $1,212 $584 $940 $648 $1,045

N/A indicates that a company would not write the risk

Please note: The above premiums reflect surveys completed by the insurers and only those insurers who chose to respond to the survey are included.
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EXAMPLE SIX
These premiums apply to a farming household with previous insurance, ages 48 and 50, whose three teenage children are also drivers. The 48-year-old
drives a 2014 Nissan Pathfinder 4WD to and from work, 25 miles each way, five days a week for an annual total mileage of 28,000. The 50-year-old    
drives a 2012 GMC Sierra 3500HD pickup for farm use only.  The annual total mileage on this vehicle is 15,000. The 14 and 15-year-old drive a 1990   
Ford F150 4WD pickup for farm use only, for an annual total mileage of  6,000. The 17-year-old drives a 2003 Ford Ranger to and from school, 
20 miles each way, five days a week for an annual total mileage of 12,000. All three teenagers qualify for a good student discount.
 
Coverage:  25/50/20 Liability; 25/50 Uninsured Motorist
A)  None of the drivers have accidents or driving citations.
B)  The 50-year-old had an at-fault accident two years ago, on which the insurer paid $20,000 to settle.

A B A B A B A B A B A B A B A B A B

Allstate Fire & Casualty Insurance Co. $1,523 $1,613 $1,465 $1,553 $1,359 $1,442 $1,717 $1,825 $1,345 $1,428 $1,724 $1,832 $1,625 $1,725 $1,144 $1,211 $1,724 $1,832

Depositors Insurance Co. $1,282 $1,569 $1,046 $1,272 $1,357 $1,664 $1,303 $1,596 $1,076 $1,310 $1,147 $1,400 $1,073 $1,306 $1,032 $1,254 $1,241 $1,518

Farmers Alliance Mutual Insurance Co. $853 $908 $648 $690 $801 $852 $801 $852 $826 $880 $648 $690 $826 $880 $554 $590 $648 $690

Mid-Century Insurance Co. $1,361 $1,389 $1,234 $1,259 $1,129 $1,151 $1,318 $1,344 $1,264 $1,289 $1,304 $1,329 $1,264 $1,289 $966 $985 $1,304 $1,329

Mountain West Farm Bureau Mutual Ins. $1,339 $1,709 $1,115 $1,420 $1,190 $1,517 $1,337 $1,706 $1,309 $1,672 $1,475 $1,886 $1,434 $1,833 $1,071 $1,364 $1,198 $1,528

Progressive Direct Insurance. Co. $2,312 $2,723 $1,764 $2,073 $1,972 $2,318 $2,065 $2,427 $1,860 $2,185 $2,087 $2,450 $2,141 $2,519 $1,456 $1,702 $1,700 $1,987

Progressive Northwestern Insurance Co. $2,704 $3,081 $2,036 $2,317 $2,286 $2,603 $2,399 $2,732 $2,153 $2,451 $2,422 $2,759 $2,494 $2,841 $1,655 $1,883 $1,950 $2,221

Safeco Insurance Co. $794 $854 $621 $668 $694 $747 $740 $796 $677 $728 $780 $840 $730 $785 $541 $582 $648 $698

State Farm Fire & Casualty Insurance Co. $1,250 $1,311 $967 $1,014 $1,270 $1,333 $1,376 $1,443 $1,047 $1,099 $1,229 $1,290 $1,236 $1,296 $744 $781 $1,193 $1,251

State Farm Mutual Auto Insurance Co. $1,125 $1,262 $870 $976 $1,144 $1,283 $1,283 $1,390 $943 $1,057 $1,107 $1,242 $1,112 $1,248 $670 $750 $1,074 $1,204

Travelers Insurance Co. $1,382 $1,397 $1,091 $1,104 $1,099 $1,111 $1,483 $1,509 $1,158 $1,177 $1,230 $1,254 $1,317 $1,336 $846 $858 $947 $964

Trinity Universal Insurance Co. $1,393 $1,484 $1,347 $1,435 $1,477 $1,573 $1,436 $1,530 $1,312 $1,397 $1,513 $1,612 $1,358 $1,447 $1,514 $1,614 $1,270 $1,352

United Service Automobile Assoc. $1,158 $1,215 $993 $1,041 $1,021 $1,071 $1,110 $1,165 $967 $1,014 $1,070 $1,122 $1,062 $1,114 $823 $863 $914 $959

USAA Casualty Insurance Co. $1,169 $1,226 $1,003 $1,052 $1,033 $1,083 $1,123 $1,178 $978 $1,025 $1,084 $1,137 $1,073 $1,125 $833 $873 $925 $969

Please note: The above premiums reflect surveys completed by the insurers and only those insurers who chose to respond to the survey are included.
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EXAMPLE SEVEN
These premiums apply to a two-person household, both age 68, with previous insurance.  They own a 2016 Chevrolet Tahoe 4WD and use it for
pleasure only.  Neither have any accidents nor driving citations. Both drivers have completed a highway traffic safety program and qualify for the mandatory
rate reduction.

Coverage:  25/50/20 Liability; 25/50 Uninsured Motorist
A)  Annual total mileage is 5,000.
B)  Annual total mileage is 10,000.

A B A B A B A B A B A B A B A B A B

Allstate Fire & Casualty Insurance Co. $246 $252 $241 $247 $232 $238 $262 $269 $229 $234 $264 $271 $256 $262 $213 $217 $264 $271

Depositors Insurance $342 $342 $284 $284 $362 $362 $348 $348 $292 $292 $307 $307 $290 $290 $280 $280 $330 $330

Farmers Alliance Mutual Insurance Co. $312 $312 $241 $241 $294 $294 $294 $294 $302 $302 $241 $241 $302 $302 $209 $209 $241 $241

Mid-Century Insurance Co. $202 $202 $184 $184 $171 $171 $199 $199 $190 $190 $199 $199 $190 $190 $146 $146 $210 $210

Mountain West Farm Bureau Mutual Ins. $145 $158 $124 $134 $131 $142 $145 $158 $142 $155 $158 $172 $154 $168 $119 $129 $132 $143

Progressive Direct Insurance Co. $315 $315 $262 $262 $283 $283 $292 $292 $271 $271 $297 $297 $297 $297 $230 $230 $256 $256

Progressive Northwestern Insurance Co. $277 $277 $214 $214 $239 $239 $250 $250 $225 $225 $252 $252 $257 $257 $178 $178 $207 $207

Safeco Insurance Co. $205 $217 $169 $178 $186 $196 $194 $205 $180 $191 $204 $215 $193 $204 $150 $158 $176 $185

State Farm Fire & Casualty Insurance Co. $166 $197 $130 $153 $169 $200 $183 $216 $140 $165 $164 $194 $164 $195 $101 $118 $159 $188

State Farm Mutual Auto Insurance Co. $150 $177 $117 $138 $152 $180 $164 $195 $126 $149 $147 $174 $148 $175 $91 $107 $143 $169

Travelers Insurance Co. $288 $288 $240 $240 $242 $242 $305 $305 $252 $252 $265 $265 $278 $278 $201 $201 $219 $219

Trinity Universal Insurance Co. $181 $181 $176 $176 $191 $191 $186 $186 $171 $171 $195 $195 $176 $176 $195 $195 $167 $167

United Service Automobile Assoc. $156 $171 $135 $147 $138 $151 $149 $163 $131 $143 $143 $156 $144 $157 $113 $123 $124 $135

USAA Casualty Insurance Co. $156 $171 $135 $147 $138 $151 $149 $163 $131 $143 $143 $156 $144 $157 $113 $123 $124 $135

Please note: The above premiums reflect surveys completed by the insurers and only those insurers who chose to respond to the survey are included.
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CONTACT INFORMATION FOR CONSUMERS 

ALLSTATE FIRE & CASUALTY INSURANCE CO.   
2775 Sanders Rd. Ste. A5 
Northbrook, IL 60062-6127 

1-800-255-7828 www.allstate.com 

DEPOSITERS INSURANCE CO.  
1100 Locust  
Des Moines, IA 50391 

1-800-982-0756 www.nationwide.com 

FARMERS ALLIANCE MUTUAL INSURANCE CO.   
PO Box 1401 
McPherson, KS 67460 

1-620-241-2200 
ext. 1505 

www.fami.com 

MID-CENTURY INSURANCE CO.   
6303 Owensmouth Ave. 
Woodland Hills, CA 91367 

1-818-965-0424 www.farmers.com 

MOUNTAIN WEST FARM BUREAU MUTUAL 
INSURANCE CO. 

 
931 Boulder Drive 
Laramie, WY 82070 

1-307-745-4835 www.mwfbic.com 

PROGRESSIVE DIRECT INSURANCE CO.   
PO Box 31260 
Tampa, FL 33631 

1-800-888-7764 www.progressive.com 

PROGRESSIVE NORTHWESTERN INSURANCE CO.  
PO Box 6807 
Cleveland, OH 44101 

1-800-876-5581 www.progressiveagent.com 

SAFECO INSURANCE OF ILLINOIS  
2012 Corporate Dr. Ste. 108 
Naperville, IL 60563 

800-332-3226 www.safeco.com 

STATE FARM FIRE AND CASUALTY CO. 
STATE FARM MUTUAL AUTOMOBILE INSURANCE CO. 

    www.statefarm.com 

TRAVELERS INSURANCE CO.  
PO Box 59059 
Knoxville, TN 37950-9059 

1-800-842-5075 www.travelers.com 

TRINITY UNIVERSAL INSURANCE CO.   
10000 North Central Expressway 
Dallas, TX 75231 

1-904-245-5600 www.kemper.com 

UNITED SERVICE AUTOMOBILE ASSOC. 
USAA CASUALTY INSURANCE CO. 

 
9800 Fredericksburg Road 
San Antonio, TX 78288 

1-800-531-8722 www.usaa.com 

 



Technical Notes   
 

Some of the companies that participated in this survey have differences in determining the 
premiums.  These include: 
 

 Mountain West Farm Bureau Mutual Insurance Co. 

All Examples – Use liability limits of 25/50/25, medical limits of $1,000 

and 25/50 uninsured and underinsured motorists coverage. 

 

 United Service Auto Association and USAA Casualty Insurance Co.  

USAA Group Property & Casualty products are generally available to active 

duty U.S. military personnel and their families, National Guard, Selected 

Reserve, and recently retired or separated personnel. 

 

 

 
 
 
 

 
  

Compare Insurance Rates Online 

If you prefer, use the Commissioner of Securities & Insurance 
website for quick and easy comparisons of auto, homeowners, 
Medicare supplements, and long-term care insurance rates. 

www.csimt.gov/your-insurance 
 
 

http://www.csimt.gov/


 
 

CONTACT US 
 

MONICA J. LINDEEN 
Commissioner of Securities & Insurance 

Montana State Auditor 

 

CONSUMER HOTLINE 

444-2040 

1-800-332-6148 (Outside Helena) 
 
 
Fax:  406-444-3497 
TDD Phone:  406-444-3246 

 
 
 
 
 

Commissioner of Securities & Insurance  |  Montana State Auditor 
840 Helena Avenue  |  Helena, MT 59601 

 

www.csi.mt.gov 
 
 

 
 

 

 
 
 

  
 

 
CONTACT US 
 

MONICA J. LINDEEN 
Office of the Montana State Auditor 

Commissioner of Securities & Insurance 

 

CONSUMER HOTLINE 

406-444-2040 

1-800-332-6148 (Outside Helena) 
 
 
Fax:  406-444-3497 
TDD Phone:  406-444-3246 

 
 
 
 
 

Commissioner of Securities & Insurance  |  Montana State Auditor 
840 Helena Avenue  |  Helena, MT 59601 

 

www.csimt.gov 

The Office of the Commissioner of Securities and Insurance, Montana State Auditor, attempts to provide reasonable accommodation for any known disability 
that may interfere with a person's ability to participate in any service, program or activity of the agency. Alternative accessible formats of this document will be 
provided upon request. For more information call (406) 444-2040 or TDD (406) 444-3246. 
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