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Dear Fellow Montanan: 
 
The Commissioner of Securities and Insurance, Office of the 

Montana State Auditor, is pleased to provide you with the Montana 

2020 Automobile Insurance Rate Comparison Guide.   

This guide gives you a general idea of the premium rates charged 

in Montana.  For more specific information, you must contact the 

individual insurance companies.  

Comparison shopping takes time, but can save you money. Use this guide to narrow the choice 

of insurers or agents you may want to contact. Shop carefully and contact the CSI if you have 

any questions or need additional assistance. Our knowledgeable staff is available to help you 

with a wide range of insurance issues. Please call the consumer hotline at 1-800-332-6148 or 

from Helena at 444-2040. You can also find additional information and resources on the CSI 

website at www.csimt.gov. 

 
Sincerely, 

 
Matthew M. Rosendale, Sr. 
Commissioner of Securities & Insurance 
Montana State Auditor 
 
 
 
 
 

As Commissioner of Securities & 
Insurance, I’m here to serve you. 
Please let my office know if you 
need anything. 

http://www.csimt.gov/
http://www.csimt.gov/


 

 

This guide compares how much a Montana driver might pay for auto liability insurance 
coverage in nine different geographic areas: Billings, Bozeman, Butte, Great Falls, Helena, 
Kalispell, Missoula, Scobey and Thompson Falls.  

Top selling companies that sell auto liability insurance in Montana were invited to 
participate in our survey.  Sample rates from the companies that chose to participate are 
featured on the following charts. 

For further information, please refer to the CSI publication Montana Consumer 
Guide to Auto Insurance at www.csimt.gov/your-insurance/auto. (Or request a 
hard copy by calling 1-800-332-6148.) 

 

How to use this guide 
 
The premium quotes from the insurance companies listed in this guide are: 

 Based on the amount you pay every six months. 

 Based on the most recent three years of driving experience. 

 Based on rates in effect as of January 1, 2020.  If a company’s rates have changed 
since then, these quotes may no longer be accurate.  (Please keep in mind the 
premiums quoted are only examples. Your individual situation may include other 
factors that will be reflected in the premiums quoted to you.) 

 Based on the assumption that you are new to the company and not renewing an 
existing policy. 

 Based on a standard performance vehicle. 

 Based on the minimum required liability limits set by Montana law. ($25,000 
bodily injury coverage for one person, $50,000 bodily injury coverage for two or 
more people and $20,000 property damage coverage; $25,000 bodily injury 
coverage for one uninsured motorist person and $50,000 bodily injury coverage 
for two or more uninsured motorists is included.) 

 Based on the area for which they are written.  

About this guide 

http://www.csimt.gov/
http://www.csimt.gov/


Coverage 
State law sets minimum liability requirements for auto insurance. As previously noted, 
these limits are $25,000 bodily injury coverage for one person, $50,000 for coverage of 
bodily injury for 2 or more people, and $20,000 for property damage coverage. Liability 
insurance covers you against damages you cause to others if you are at fault in an 
accident. It does NOT protect you against your own losses. 

Also, it is mandatory for the companies to offer uninsured motorist coverage, but you, 
the consumer, may reject this coverage. Consumers may want to consider higher 
liability limits than the state minimum, because the minimums may not cover your 
exposure to lawsuits.  

If you own a newer car, your bank will probably require you to buy Comprehensive and 
Collision coverage. However, the state’s minimum requirements do NOT include such 
coverage. There may also be other coverage you wish to consider that is not mandatory.   

 

Insurers 
Not every insurer will offer you coverage because different insurers have different 
requirements that must be met in order to become insured. Insurers set target 
“markets” that help them select the types of drivers they want to insure. There are three 
basic markets: non-standard, standard, and preferred. 

1. Non-standard markets (highest premiums) include drivers with less experience and 
numerous tickets or accidents. 

2. The standard market is for the average driver. 

3. The preferred market (lowest premiums) is available to low-risk drivers. 

 

 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Need More Help? 
 

Professional consumer advocates are available to assist 
you on a wide-range of insurance issues. 

 
Call the Montana State Auditor Insurance Hotline 

1-800-332-6148 
 

 



How to Shop for Auto Insurance  
Before buying insurance, consider contacting several insurance agents or companies to 
find the best combination of quality and price. Know what you want before you shop; you 
will be less likely to buy something you don’t need. And finally, ask several agents or 
companies for an annual premium quote for your auto. 

 
 

Shopping Tips 
 Be sure to tell your company or agent if the following information applies to you. You may be 

entitled to a lower premium. 

• Your vehicle has an anti-theft device, automatic seatbelts, and/or airbags. 
• Your vehicle is used for pleasure driving only and you do not drive it to work. 
• You are in a car pool and drive to work an average of no more than two days per week. 
• You drive a short distance to work. 
• You drive fewer than 7,500 miles per year. 
• You have had no accidents or violations. 
• You have successfully completed a driver education course.  
• You are a full-time student and your grade point average is 3.0 or above. 

 Many mutual companies pay dividends to their policyholders at the end of the year. However, 
dividend amounts are not guaranteed. 
 

 Do your shopping as far in advance as possible. This gives you time to consider more 
companies and prevents a hasty decision. Remember, if you change companies at a time other 
than the policy renewal date, you will be charged for the administrative costs of canceling the 
policy. 
 

 If you have been denied coverage by an insurance company due to an auto accident or traffic 
violation, try another company. Do not assume that you will be turned down by all companies. 
Different companies use different underwriting standards. If several companies turn you 
down, try some companies that have higher premiums. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

What to do if you are unable to obtain 
 auto insurance 

 
A licensed agent can help you get insurance through the Montana Automobile 
Insurance Plan administered by the Western Association of Automobile Insurance Plans. 
However, this Plan should be a last resort because the premiums are generally higher 
than those sold by private companies. 
 



7 different insurance scenarios are outlined on the following pages. 
 

The following pages outline the rate quotes received from insurers who chose to 
respond to our survey. Read through the different examples and find the one 
that best matches your situation. Refer to that chart and find your geographic 
region.  

 
Please note: The plans included in this guide are examples only.

 
 

Technical Notes   
 
Some of the companies that participated in this survey have differences in determining the 
premiums.  These include: 

 
 Mountain West Farm Bureau Mutual Insurance Co. 

All Examples – Use liability limits of 25/50/25, medical limits of $1,000 and 
25/50 uninsured and underinsured motorists coverage. 

 
 United Service Auto Association and USAA Casualty Insurance Co.  

USAA Group Property & Casualty products are generally available to active 
duty U.S. military personnel and their families, National Guard, Selected 
Reserve, and recently retired or separated personnel. 

 

 
Compare Insurance Rates Online 

If you prefer, use the Commissioner of Securities & Insurance 
website for quick and easy comparisons of auto, homeowners, 
Medicare supplements, and long-term care insurance rates. 

www.csimt.gov/your-insurance 
 
 

http://www.csimt.gov/
http://www.csimt.gov/


EXAMPLE ONE
These premiums apply to a 19‐year‐old who drives a 2014 Honda Civic sedan to and from work, eight miles each way, five days a week. Annual total mileage is
10,000. Driver has previous insurance with three years driving experience, but is no longer supported by parental insurance.  

Coverage:  25/50/20 Liability; 25/50 Uninsured Motorist
A) Driver has no accidents or driving citations.
B) Driver has one at‐fault accident two years ago, on which the insurer paid $10,000 to settle, and one minor speeding citation six months ago.

 

A B A B A B A B A B A B A B A B A B

Allstate Fire & Casualty Insurance Co. $716 $1,113 $692 $1,074 $647 $999 $801 $1,262 $643 $995 $803 $1,264 $760 $1,189 $555 $843 $803 $1,264

Austin Mutual Insurance Company N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

CSAA Fire & Casualty Insurance Co. $1,192 $2,855 $1,440 $3,478 $1,013 $2,396 $1,129 $2,685 $1,440 $3,478 $1,241 $2,994 $1,126 $2,688 $1,062 $2,523 $1,158 $2,753

Farmers Alliance Mutual Insurance Co. $389 $531 $416 $568 $419 $572 $419 $572 $412 $564 $389 $531 $419 $572 $315 $428 $319 $435

Garrison Property & Casualty Insurance Co. $291 $379 $248 $323 $252 $328 $272 $353 $239 $311 $255 $331 $265 $344 $206 $267 $226 $294

Government Employees Insurance Co. $646 $1,501 $488 $1,138 $617 $1,439 $575 $1,337 $533 $1,240 $581 $1,361 $568 $1,330 $482 $1,127 $581 $1,361

Liberty Mutual Fire Insurance Co. $915 $1,332 $665 $966 $892 $1,297 $915 $1,332 $840 $1,221 $824 $1,199 $875 $1,274 $715 $1,038 $665 $966

Mid‐Century Insurance Co. $566 $721 $486 $620 $490 $624 $499 $636 $535 $682 $516 $657 $535 $682 $422 $536 $516 $657

Mountain West Farm Bureau Mutual Ins. $422 $632 $351 $526 $383 $574 $431 $646 $413 $619 $467 $700 $453 $679 $318 $477 $371 $556

Nationwide Mutual Insurance Co. $1,102 $1,312 $909 $1,080 $1,117 $1,331 $1,109 $1,320 $961 $1,143 $1,026 $1,221 $954 $1,134 $894 $1,062 $1,041 $1,239

Progressive Direct Insurance  Co. $364 $431 $304 $357 $306 $358 $354 $419 $315 $370 $351 $417 $341 $404 $260 $302 $297 $353

Progressive Northwestern Insurance  Co. $513 $616 $402 $483 $404 $485 $493 $595 $423 $507 $486 $586 $466 $563 $320 $385 $386 $468

Safeco Insurance Company of Illinois $684 $1,128 $512 $842 $550 $913 $579 $963 $523 $870 $595 $1,000 $564 $940 $421 $696 $479 $802

Standard Fire Insurance Company $638 $829 $514 $663 $517 $666 $682 $888 $544 $701 $576 $744 $611 $791 $410 $522 $456 $583

State Farm Fire & Casualty Insurance Co. $758 $1,451 $584 $1,117 $741 $1,418 $828 $1,584 $628 $1,201 $731 $1,399 $720 $1,378 $434 $829 $654 $1,251

State Farm Mutual Auto Insurance Co. $561 $684 $432 $527 $548 $668 $612 $747 $465 $566 $541 $660 $533 $650 $322 $391 $484 $590

United Service Automobile Assoc. $197 $271 $169 $231 $172 $235 $185 $254 $163 $223 $174 $239 $180 $247 $140 $191 $154 $211

USAA Casualty Insurance Co. $233 $321 $199 $274 $202 $277 $217 $299 $192 $263 $203 $279 $212 $292 $165 $226 $181 $249

USAA General Indemnity Co. $224 $309 $192 $263 $195 $267 $210 $288 $185 $254 $197 $270 $204 $281 $159 $218 $175 $240

Please note: The above premiums reflect surveys completed by the insurers and only those insurers who chose to respond to the survey are included. 

6 month premium rates listed below

Helena ScobeyButte Great Falls Kalispell Missoula
Thompson 

FallsBozemanBillings

  2020 Automobile Insurance Rate Comparison Guide



EXAMPLE TWO
These premiums apply to a single parent household with previous insurance, age 40, whose two teenage children, ages 16 and 17, are also drivers. 
The 40‐year‐old drives a 2016 Ford Edge to and from work, less than 5 miles each way, five days a week, for an annual total mileage of 15,000. This driver has no accidents or driving
citations. The 16‐year‐old is newly licensed, has no accidents or driving citations, and does not qualify for a good student discount. The 17‐year‐old has been driving for two years, has
no driving citations and qualifies for a good student discount.

Coverage:  25/50/20 Liability; 25/50 Uninsured Motorist
A) The 17‐year‐old drives a 2009 Chevrolet Malibu to and from school, five miles each way, five days a week, with occasional driving on the weekends. The 16‐year‐old drives a 2004
Volkswagen Passat sedan to and from school, five miles each way, five days a week, with occasional driving on the weekends. The total annual mileage on each vehicle is 5,000.
B)  The 17‐year‐old drives a 2009 Chevrolet Malibu to and from school, five miles each way, five days a week, with occasional driving on the weekends. The 16‐year‐old drives a 2004
Volkswagen Passat sedan to and from school, five miles each way, five days a week, with occasional driving on the weekends. The total annual mileage on each vehicle is 5,000. 
Neither of the two drivers has completed driver training.

A B A B A B A B A B A B A B A B A B
Allstate Fire & Casualty Insurance Co. $1,805 $1,805 $1,729 $1,729 $1,586 $1,586 $2,010 $2,010 $1,570 $1,570 $2,018 $2,018 $1,912 $1,912 $1,343 $1,343 $2,018 $2,018

Austin Mutual Insurance Company $1,410 $1,539 $906 $988 $1,010 $1,101 $1,010 $1,101 $1,010 $1,101 $906 $988 $906 $988 $982 $1,069 $906 $988

CSAA Fire & Casualty Insurance Co. $1,917 $2,403 $2,321 $2,914 $1,605 $2,009 $1,799 $2,254 $2,321 $2,914 $1,995 $2,504 $1,803 $2,259 $1,693 $2,119 $1,838 $2,306

Farmers Alliance Mutual Insurance Co. $578 $630 $620 $674 $623 $678 $623 $678 $614 $669 $578 $630 $623 $678 $470 $512 $479 $517

Garrison Property & Casualty Insurance Co. $1,158 $1,207 $988 $1,029 $1,009 $1,051 $1,093 $1,139 $956 $996 $1,037 $1,081 $1,056 $1,100 $816 $849 $903 $940

Government Employees Insurance Co. $1,263 $1,263 $959 $959 $1,208 $1,208 $1,127 $1,127 $1,046 $1,046 $1,140 $1,140 $1,115 $1,115 $948 $948 $1,140 $1,140

Liberty Mutual Fire Insurance Co. $2,954 $2,954 $2,147 $2,147 $2,879 $2,879 $2,954 $2,954 $2,711 $2,711 $2,659 $2,659 $2,826 $2,826 $2,308 $2,308 $2,147 $2,147

Mid‐Century Insurance Co. $1,942 $1,942 $1,676 $1,676 $1,688 $1,688 $1,702 $1,702 $1,862 $1,862 $1,776 $1,776 $1,862 $1,862 $1,484 $1,484 $1,776 $1,776

Mountain West Farm Bureau Mutual Ins. $771 $771 $645 $645 $701 $701 $790 $790 $755 $755 $854 $854 $827 $827 $589 $589 $685 $685

Nationwide Mutual Insurance Co. $1,929 $1,929 $1,604 $1,604 $1,949 $1,949 $1,956 $1,956 $1,710 $1,710 $1,844 $1,844 $1,700 $1,700 $1,583 $1,583 $1,862 $1,862

Progressive Direct Insurance  Co. $776 $776 $618 $618 $621 $621 $749 $749 $646 $646 $749 $749 $722 $722 $502 $502 $613 $613

Progressive Northwestern Insurance  Co. $1,005 $1,005 $784 $784 $789 $789 $968 $968 $825 $825 $954 $954 $919 $919 $620 $620 $758 $758

Safeco Insurance Company of Illinois $1,162 $1,162 $1,201 $1,201 $1,312 $1,312 $1,389 $1,389 $1,257 $1,257 $1,459 $1,459 $1,360 $1,360 $1,000 $1,000 $1,168 $1,168

Standard Fire Insurance Company $1,339 $1,385 $1,059 $1,095 $1,066 $1,101 $1,435 $1,484 $1,122 $1,159 $1,192 $1,229 $1,271 $1,316 $823 $848 $917 $950

State Farm Fire & Casualty Insurance Co. $1,799 $1,799 $1,387 $1,387 $1,758 $1,758 $1,963 $1,963 $1,490 $1,490 $1,735 $1,735 $1,708 $1,708 $1,032 $1,032 $1,553 $1,553

State Farm Mutual Auto Insurance Co. $1,331 $1,331 $1,027 $1,027 $1,301 $1,301 $1,452 $1,452 $1,103 $1,103 $1,284 $1,284 $1,264 $1,264 $764 $764 $1,149 $1,149

United Service Automobile Assoc. $1,060 $1,104 $907 $944 $931 $969 $1,012 $1,054 $881 $917 $972 $1,012 $970 $1,010 $749 $780 $833 $866

USAA Casualty Insurance Co. $1,185 $1,233 $1,012 $1,053 $1,036 $1,078 $1,123 $1,169 $981 $1,021 $1,071 $1,114 $1,082 $1,126 $838 $871 $927 $965

USAA General Indemnity Co. $941 $980 $806 $838 $823 $857 $892 $928 $781 $812 $849 $883 $860 $895 $668 $694 $738 $768

Please note: The above premiums reflect surveys completed by the insurers and only those insurers who chose to respond to the survey are included.

6 month premium rates listed below
Thompson 

FallsBillings Bozeman Butte Helena Kalispell Missoula ScobeyGreat Falls

  2020 Automobile Insurance Rate Comparison Guide



EXAMPLE THREE
These premiums apply to a 27‐year‐old with previous insurance that drives a 2019 Kia Soul to and from work, 20 miles each way, five days a 
week, for an annual total mileage of 15,000.

Coverage:  25/50/20 Liability; 25/50 Uninsured Motorist
A) Driver has no accidents or driving citations.
B) Driver has one major speeding citation one year ago.

A B A B A B A B A B A B A B A B A B

Allstate Fire & Casualty Insurance Co. $310 $341 $302 $333 $290 $318 $333 $370 $286 $314 $335 $372 $323 $357 $262 $285 $335 $372

Austin Mutual Insurance Company $309 N/A $207 N/A $228 N/A $228 N/A $228 N/A $207 N/A $207 N/A $222 N/A $207 N/A

CSAA Fire & Casualty Insurance Co. $446 $567 $529 $679 $394 $496 $433 $548 $529 $679 $460 $587 $428 $541 $408 $517 $445 $564

Farmers Alliance Mutual Insurance Co. $203 $203 $216 $216 $218 $218 $218 $218 $215 $215 $203 $203 $218 $218 $165 $165 $169 $169

Garrison Property & Casualty Insurance Co. $170 $229 $147 $197 $150 $201 $161 $218 $142 $191 $154 $207 $156 $210 $123 $164 $135 $181

Government Employees Insurance Co. $342 $378 $251 $278 $318 $352 $301 $333 $276 $305 $292 $323 $298 $330 $249 $275 $292 $323

Liberty Mutual Fire Insurance Co. $414 $503 $305 $369 $404 $490 $414 $503 $381 $462 $375 $455 $397 $482 $327 $396 $305 $369

Mid‐Century Insurance Co. $300 $388 $256 $330 $258 $333 $265 $341 $278 $359 $270 $347 $278 $359 $216 $278 $270 $347

Mountain West Farm Bureau Mutual Ins. $177 $184 $150 $156 $162 $168 $182 $189 $173 $180 $195 $203 $189 $196 $138 $143 $159 $166

Nationwide Mutual Insurance Co. $359 $629 $303 $524 $361 $635 $362 $634 $318 $552 $339 $590 $320 $551 $300 $517 $342 $598

Progressive Direct Insurance  Co. $167 $204 $147 $175 $147 $175 $164 $199 $150 $181 $164 $199 $161 $194 $131 $153 $146 $174

Progressive Northwestern Insurance  Co. $196 $255 $156 $201 $157 $202 $190 $246 $163 $210 $187 $241 $179 $233 $126 $162 $150 $195

Safeco Insurance Company of Illinois $220 $294 $171 $228 $186 $248 $193 $258 $178 $237 $200 $269 $191 $255 $148 $195 $169 $225

Standard Fire Insurance Company $369 $461 $305 $377 $307 $379 $392 $493 $320 $397 $337 $422 $354 $443 $252 $307 $275 $339

State Farm Fire & Casualty Insurance Co. $334 $402 $258 $312 $327 $393 $364 $438 $277 $334 $322 $388 $317 $382 $193 $233 $289 $348

State Farm Mutual Auto Insurance Co. $248 $274 $192 $212 $242 $268 $270 $299 $206 $228 $239 $265 $235 $261 $144 $159 $214 $237

United Service Automobile Assoc. $116 $154 $101 $133 $103 $136 $111 $147 $98 $130 $106 $141 $107 $142 $85 $112 $93 $123

USAA Casualty Insurance Co. $135 $180 $117 $155 $119 $158 $127 $170 $113 $150 $121 $162 $124 $165 $98 $130 $108 $143

USAA General Indemnity Co. $155 $209 $134 $179 $137 $183 $148 $198 $130 $174 $141 $189 $143 $191 $113 $150 $124 $165

Please note: The above premiums reflect surveys completed by the insurers and only those insurers who chose to respond to the survey are included.

6 month premium rates listed below

Billings Bozeman Butte Helena Kalispell Missoula ScobeyGreat Falls
Thompson 

Falls

  2020 Automobile Insurance Rate Comparison Guide



EXAMPLE FOUR
These premiums apply to a two‐person household, ages 30 and 35, whom have previous insurance. The 30‐year‐old drives a 2018 Subaru Forester to
and from work, 15 miles each way, five days a week, and has an annual total mileage of 15,000. The 35‐year‐old drives a 2015 Jeep Wrangler Sport to 
and from work, 20 miles each way, five days a week, for an annual total mileage of 20,000.

Coverage:  25/50/20 Liability; 25/50 Uninsured Motorist
A) Drivers have no accidents or driving citations.
B) The 35‐year‐old has one major speeding citation one year ago, and the 30‐year‐old has no accidents or citations.

A B A B A B A B A B A B A B A B A B

Allstate Fire & Casualty Insurance Co. $444 $481 $432 $467 $410 $442 $484 $526 $403 $435 $487 $530 $467 $507 $363 $390 $487 $530

Austin Mutual Insurance Company $421 N/A $279 N/A $307 N/A $307 N/A $307 N/A $279 N/A $279 N/A $299 N/A $279 N/A

CSAA Fire & Casualty Insurance Co. $563 $662 $669 $791 $487 $570 $539 $634 $669 $791 $576 $681 $535 $630 $509 $599 $552 $649

Farmers Alliance Mutual Insurance Co. $325 $325 $323 $323 $325 $325 $325 $325 $320 $320 $303 $303 $325 $325 $249 $249 $251 $251

Garrison Property & Casualty Insurance Co. $346 $409 $298 $352 $304 $359 $328 $387 $289 $341 $312 $368 $318 $375 $250 $294 $274 $323

Government Employees Insurance Co. $493 $778 $366 $610 $460 $749 $436 $703 $401 $657 $421 $710 $431 $697 $361 $604 $421 $710

Liberty Mutual Fire Insurance Co. $747 $835 $552 $615 $729 $814 $747 $835 $689 $770 $677 $756 $716 $800 $590 $658 $552 $615

Mid‐Century Insurance Co. $411 $479 $345 $402 $348 $405 $353 $411 $375 $437 $355 $413 $375 $437 $290 $337 $355 $413

Mountain West Farm Bureau Mutual Ins. $252 $256 $212 $216 $229 $234 $257 $262 $246 $251 $277 $282 $269 $274 $194 $198 $224 $228

Nationwide Mutual Insurance Co. $488 $686 $416 $576 $493 $694 $490 $689 $433 $604 $457 $638 $434 $602 $411 $568 $463 $647

Progressive Direct Insurance  Co. $226 $269 $189 $222 $190 $224 $221 $261 $198 $230 $219 $259 $213 $250 $163 $188 $186 $218

Progressive Northwestern Insurance  Co. $294 $385 $231 $300 $232 $302 $283 $371 $242 $315 $277 $362 $266 $347 $186 $238 $220 $286

Safeco Insurance Company of Illinois $334 $455 $264 $346 $284 $373 $297 $390 $271 $355 $307 $403 $292 $382 $222 $289 $253 $330

Standard Fire Insurance Company $459 $599 $376 $483 $378 $488 $487 $640 $394 $509 $411 $539 $441 $572 $305 $388 $332 $426

State Farm Fire & Casualty Insurance Co. $500 $556 $388 $432 $489 $544 $545 $606 $416 $463 $483 $537 $476 $529 $291 $324 $433 $482

State Farm Mutual Auto Insurance Co. $371 $411 $288 $318 $363 $402 $404 $447 $309 $342 $358 $396 $353 $390 $216 $239 $321 $356

United Service Automobile Assoc. $267 $310 $231 $268 $236 $274 $254 $295 $225 $261 $243 $282 $246 $285 $195 $225 $214 $247

USAA Casualty Insurance Co. $302 $353 $262 $305 $266 $310 $286 $333 $254 $295 $272 $316 $278 $324 $221 $256 $241 $280

USAA General Indemnity Co. $344 $401 $297 $346 $303 $353 $327 $381 $288 $335 $312 $363 $316 $368 $249 $289 $273 $318

Please note: The above premiums reflect surveys completed by the insurers and only those insurers who chose to respond to the survey are included.

6 month premium rates listed below

Great Falls
Thompson 

FallsBillings Bozeman Butte Helena Kalispell Missoula Scobey

  2020 Automobile Insurance Rate Comparison Guide



EXAMPLE FIVE
These premiums apply to a household with previous insurance, ages 42 and 45, whose two teenage children, ages 16 and 18, are also drivers. The 42‐year‐old drives a 
2015 Toyota Camry to and from work, 15 miles each way, five days a week, for an annual total mileage of 20,000. This driver has no accidents or driving citations.  
The 45‐year‐old drives a 2018 Toyota 4 Runner to and from work, 10 miles each way, five days a week, for an annual total mileage of 15,000. This driver had one at‐fault accident
two years ago, on which the insurer paid $5,000 to settle. The 16‐year‐old is newly licensed, has no driving citations, and qualifies for a good student discount.
The 18‐year‐old has been driving for two years, has one major speeding citation in the last year, and does not qualify for a good student discount.

Coverage:  25/50/20 Liability; 25/50 Uninsured Motorist
A) The two teenagers share the third household vehicle, a 2010 Chevrolet Impala. They drive to and from school together, five miles each way, five days a week,
with occasional driving on the weekends. The driving is split equally between the two, for an annual total mileage of 8,000.
B) The 16‐year‐old drives a 2006 Ford Focus sedan, to and from school, five miles each way, five days a week. The 18‐year‐old drives a 2010 Chevrolet Impala
to and from school, five miles each way, five days a week. The total annual mileage on each vehicle is 5,000.

A B A B A B A B A B A B A B A B A B

Allstate Fire & Casualty Insurance Co. $1,841 $2,197 $1,766 $2,105 $1,624 $1,935 $2,061 $2,456 $1,609 $1,913 $2,069 $2,467 $1,956 $2,333 $1,371 $1,632 $2,069 $2,467

Austin Mutual Insurance Company N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

CSAA Fire & Casualty Insurance Co. $2,591 $2,961 $3,151 $3,603 $2,169 $2,475 $2,429 $2,773 $3,151 $3,603 $2,725 $3,110 $2,437 $2,782 $2,286 $2,609 $2,488 $2,836

Farmers Alliance Mutual Insurance Co. $628 $815 $623 $807 $628 $815 $628 $815 $619 $804 $584 $757 $628 $815 $473 $613 $481 $621

Garrison Property & Casualty Insurance Co. $878 $1,495 $752 $1,278 $768 $1,308 $830 $1,417 $729 $1,239 $788 $1,350 $803 $1,366 $625 $1,058 $689 $1,171

Government Employees Insurance Co. $2,492 $2,879 $1,906 $2,210 $2,392 $2,765 $2,227 $2,577 $2,071 $2,398 $2,266 $2,621 $2,216 $2,564 $1,890 $2,191 $2,266 $2,621

Liberty Mutual Fire Insurance Co. $3,057 $1,968 $2,220 $3,602 $2,733 $4,840 $3,057 $4,968 $2,805 $4,556 $2,751 $4,470 $2,924 $4,751 $2,388 $3,874 $2,220 $3,602

Mid‐Century Insurance Co. $2,284 $2,746 $1,949 $2,340 $1,964 $2,359 $1,983 $2,380 $2,151 $2,582 $2,040 $2,446 $2,151 $2,582 $1,698 $2,038 $2,040 $2,446

Mountain West Farm Bureau Mutual Ins. $1,425 $1,388 $1,192 $1,161 $1,296 $1,262 $1,460 $1,422 $1,395 $1,358 $1,579 $1,538 $1,528 $1,488 $1,087 $1,059 $1,266 $1,234

Nationwide Mutual Insurance Co. $1,828 $2,462 $1,518 $2,044 $1,851 $2,492 $1,846 $2,489 $1,611 $2,173 $1,725 $2,331 $1,599 $2,156 $1,495 $2,014 $1,747 $2,359

Progressive Direct Insurance  Co. $826 $1,083 $657 $857 $660 $861 $798 $1,045 $687 $897 $791 $1,036 $764 $999 $531 $688 $645 $840

Progressive Northwestern Insurance  Co. $1,184 $1,596 $921 $1,241 $927 $1,249 $1,139 $1,535 $970 $1,306 $1,122 $1,513 $1,078 $1,454 $730 $981 $890 $1,201

Safeco Insurance Company of Illinois $2,515 $2,787 $1,864 $2,063 $2,044 $2,265 $2,166 $2,402 $1,962 $2,175 $2,287 $2,540 $2,125 $2,357 $1,559 $1,726 $1,833 $2,034

Standard Fire Insurance Company $2,140 $2,135 $1,678 $1,677 $1,700 $1,695 $2,331 $2,317 $1,799 $1,791 $1,944 $1,933 $2,058 $2,049 $1,301 $1,299 $1,488 $1,481

State Farm Fire & Casualty Insurance Co. $1,855 $2,307 $1,432 $1,781 $1,813 $2,255 $2,024 $2,518 $1,538 $1,913 $1,789 $2,225 $1,763 $2,192 $1,066 $1,327 $1,602 $1,993

State Farm Mutual Auto Insurance Co. $1,293 $1,704 $997 $1,315 $1,264 $1,665 $1,411 $1,859 $1,072 $1,412 $1,247 $1,643 $1,228 $1,618 $743 $979 $1,117 $1,471

United Service Automobile Assoc. $753 $1,314 $647 $1,126 $663 $1,158 $719 $1,258 $629 $1,096 $690 $1,211 $691 $1,205 $538 $933 $595 $1,036

USAA Casualty Insurance Co. $846 $1,467 $727 $1,257 $743 $1,288 $803 $1,395 $705 $1,221 $765 $1,334 $775 $1,343 $606 $1,043 $668 $1,154

USAA General Indemnity Co. $687 $1,139 $591 $977 $604 $1,000 $652 $1,082 $574 $949 $621 $1,034 $630 $1,043 $494 $813 $544 $898

Please note: The above premiums reflect surveys completed by the insurers and only those insurers who chose to respond to the survey are included.

6 month premium rates listed below

Great Falls
Thompson 

FallsBillings Bozeman Butte Helena Kalispell Missoula Scobey

  2020 Automobile Insurance Rate Comparison Guide



EXAMPLE SIX
These premiums apply to a farming household with previous insurance, ages 48 and 50, whose three teenage children are also drivers. The 48‐year‐old drives a 2015 Honda Odyssey
to and from work, 25 miles each way, five days a week for an annual total mileage of 28,000. The 50‐year‐old drives a 2017 GMC Sierra 2500 pickup for farm use only.
The annual total mileage on this vehicle is 15,000. The 14 and 15‐year‐old have valid operators licenses and drive a 1999 Ford F150 4WD pickup for farm use only, for an annual
total mileage of  6,000. The 17‐year‐old drives a 2009 Subaru Outback to and from school, 20 miles each way, five days a week for an annual  total mileage of 12,000.
All three teenagers qualify for a good student discount.
 
Coverage:  25/50/20 Liability; 25/50 Uninsured Motorist
A)  None of the drivers have accidents or driving citations.
B)  The 50‐year‐old had an at‐fault accident two years ago, on which the insurer paid $20,000 to settle.

A B A B A B A B A B A B A B A B A B

Allstate Fire & Casualty Insurance Co. $2,044 $2,072 $1,963 $1,990 $1,814 $1,839 $2,299 $2,332 $1,794 $1,820 $2,309 $2,342 $2,179 $2,209 $1,526 $1,547 $2,309 $2,342

Austin Mutual Insurance Company $1,534 $1,569 $986 $1,008 $1,100 $1,124 $1,100 $1,124 $1,100 $1,124 $986 $1,008 $986 $1,008 $1,068 $1,092 $986 $1,008

CSAA Fire & Casualty Insurance Co. $2,274 $2,680 $2,757 $3,256 $1,903 $2,240 $2,134 $2,515 $2,757 $3,256 $2,367 $2,799 $2,140 $2,521 $2,007 $2,363 $2,182 $2,572

Farmers Alliance Mutual Insurance Co. $575 $604 $571 $600 $575 $604 $575 $604 $567 $595 $535 $561 $575 $604 $433 $455 $441 $463

Garrison Property & Casualty Insurance Co. $1,231 $1,312 $1,052 $1,120 $1,072 $1,141 $1,158 $1,234 $1,016 $1,083 $1,095 $1,166 $1,123 $1,196 $871 $927 $961 $1,023

Government Employees Insurance Co. $1,509 $2,119 $1,149 $1,611 $1,443 $2,025 $1,349 $1,893 $1,251 $1,755 $1,360 $1,908 $1,331 $1,868 $1,135 $1,591 $1,360 $1,908

Liberty Mutual Fire Insurance Co. $2,709 $3,440 $2,085 $2,503 $2,640 $3,352 $2,709 $3,440 $2,488 $3,158 $2,444 $3,099 $2,592 $3,291 $2,123 $3,689 $1,978 $2,503

Mid‐Century Insurance Co. $2,872 $2,872 $2,479 $2,479 $2,496 $2,496 $2,570 $2,570 $2,757 $2,757 $2,627 $2,627 $2,757 $2,757 $2,200 $2,200 $2,627 $2,627

Mountain West Farm Bureau Mutual Ins. $666 $735 $559 $616 $607 $669 $681 $751 $652 $719 $735 $810 $713 $786 $510 $563 $591 $652

Nationwide Mutual Insurance Co. $1,942 $2,119 $1,617 $1,761 $1,968 $2,147 $1,959 $2,137 $1,712 $1,865 $1,828 $1,993 $1,698 $1,850 $1,593 $1,735 $1,852 $2,019

Progressive Direct Insurance  Co. $759 $986 $603 $779 $607 $783 $734 $952 $633 $818 $720 $935 $693 $900 $488 $623 $582 $747

Progressive Northwestern Insurance  Co. $972 $1,378 $751 $1,063 $757 $1,069 $934 $1,322 $793 $1,121 $902 $1,278 $865 $1,222 $588 $829 $703 $988

Safeco Insurance Company of Illinois $1,868 $2,272 $1,385 $1,682 $1,509 $1,838 $1,599 $1,948 $1,445 $1,761 $1,677 $2,049 $1,564 $1,908 $1,149 $1,399 $1,340 $1,637

Standard Fire Insurance Company $1,383 $1,398 $1,097 $1,105 $1,096 $1,112 $1,474 $1,495 $1,157 $1,170 $1,221 $1,241 $1,311 $1,331 $847 $857 $942 $960

State Farm Fire & Casualty Insurance Co. $1,839 $1,915 $1,420 $1,479 $1,798 $1,872 $2,007 $2,090 $1,525 $1,589 $1,774 $1,848 $1,747 $1,820 $1,058 $1,103 $1,589 $1,655

State Farm Mutual Auto Insurance Co. $1,361 $1,525 $1,052 $1,178 $1,331 $1,491 $1,485 $1,664 $1,129 $1,265 $1,313 $1,471 $1,294 $1,449 $785 $878 $1,176 $1,318

United Service Automobile Assoc. $1,076 $1,155 $922 $989 $945 $1,013 $1,024 $1,099 $895 $960 $980 $1,051 $985 $1,057 $765 $820 $847 $908

USAA Casualty Insurance Co. $1,210 $1,300 $1,036 $1,113 $1,058 $1,136 $1,144 $1,229 $1,004 $1,078 $1,087 $1,167 $1,106 $1,188 $860 $923 $949 $1,019

USAA General Indemnity Co. $903 $967 $775 $829 $790 $845 $853 $912 $751 $803 $809 $865 $826 $884 $646 $691 $711 $760

Please note: The above premiums reflect surveys completed by the insurers and only those insurers who chose to respond to the survey are included.

6 month premium rates listed below

Great Falls
Thompson 

FallsBillings Bozeman Butte Helena Kalispell Missoula Scobey

  2020 Automobile Insurance Rate Comparison Guide



EXAMPLE SEVEN
These premiums apply to a two‐person household, both age 68, with previous insurance. They own a 2020 Chevrolet Equinox and use it for pleasure only.
Neither have any accidents nor driving citations. Both drivers have completed a highway traffic safety program and qualify for the mandatory rate reduction.

Coverage:  25/50/20 Liability; 25/50 Uninsured Motorist
A)  Annual total mileage is 5,000.
B)  Annual total mileage is 10,000.

A B A B A B A B A B A B A B A B A B

Allstate Fire & Casualty Insurance Co. $315 $324 $308 $316 $295 $303 $340 $350 $291 $299 $342 $352 $329 $339 $266 $273 $342 $352

Austin Mutual Insurance Company $208 $208 $143 $143 $157 $157 $157 $157 $157 $157 $143 $143 $143 $143 $154 $154 $143 $143

CSAA Fire & Casualty Insurance Co. $345 $345 $405 $405 $309 $309 $337 $337 $405 $405 $356 $356 $332 $332 $319 $319 $345 $345

Farmers Alliance Mutual Insurance Co. $149 $149 $159 $159 $159 $159 $159 $159 $157 $157 $149 $149 $159 $159 $122 $122 $125 $125

Garrison Property & Casualty Insurance Co. $142 $156 $123 $135 $125 $138 $135 $149 $119 $131 $130 $143 $130 $143 $103 $113 $113 $124

Government Employees Insurance Co. $357 $413 $273 $315 $341 $395 $320 $370 $297 $343 $322 $372 $315 $364 $270 $311 $322 $372

Liberty Mutual Fire Insurance Co. $400 $400 $294 $294 $390 $390 $400 $400 $368 $368 $362 $362 $383 $383 $315 $315 $294 $294

Mid‐Century Insurance Co. $233 $233 $203 $203 $204 $204 $209 $209 $223 $223 $219 $219 $223 $223 $176 $176 $219 $219

Mountain West Farm Bureau Mutual Ins. $152 $132 $129 $112 $139 $121 $156 $135 $149 $129 $167 $145 $162 $140 $119 $103 $137 $119

Nationwide Mutual Insurance Co. $250 $250 $215 $215 $251 $251 $252 $252 $224 $224 $237 $237 $226 $226 $213 $213 $239 $239

Progressive Direct Insurance  Co. $176 $176 $154 $154 $155 $155 $173 $173 $159 $159 $175 $175 $172 $172 $139 $139 $157 $157

Progressive Northwestern Insurance  Co. $189 $189 $150 $150 $151 $151 $182 $182 $158 $158 $183 $183 $176 $176 $122 $122 $149 $149

Safeco Insurance Company of Illinois $206 $219 $163 $172 $176 $185 $181 $191 $167 $176 $187 $197 $179 $189 $140 $147 $158 $166

Standard Fire Insurance Company $271 $284 $231 $239 $232 $243 $289 $301 $242 $252 $253 $263 $264 $275 $197 $204 $213 $220

State Farm Fire & Casualty Insurance Co. $224 $265 $174 $206 $219 $259 $244 $289 $187 $221 $217 $256 $213 $252 $131 $154 $194 $230

State Farm Mutual Auto Insurance Co. $167 $197 $130 $153 $163 $192 $181 $214 $139 $164 $161 $190 $158 $187 $98 $115 $144 $171

United Service Automobile Assoc. $104 $113 $90 $98 $92 $100 $100 $108 $88 $96 $96 $104 $96 $104 $77 $83 $84 $91

USAA Casualty Insurance Co. $116 $126 $101 $110 $103 $112 $111 $120 $98 $107 $106 $115 $107 $116 $86 $93 $93 $101

USAA General Indemnity Co. $131 $143 $114 $124 $116 $127 $125 $137 $111 $120 $121 $131 $121 $132 $96 $104 $105 $114

Please note: The above premiums reflect surveys completed by the insurers and only those insurers who chose to respond to the survey are included.

6 month premium rates listed below

Great Falls
Thompson 

FallsBillings Bozeman Butte Helena Kalispell Missoula Scobey

  2020 Automobile Insurance Rate Comparison Guide



 

CONTACT US 
 

Matt M. Rosendale 
Commissioner of Securities & Insurance 

Office of the Montana State Auditor  
 
 

840 Helena Avenue, Helena, MT 59601 
 

Consumer Hotline 
 

406-444-2040 
 

Or  
 

Toll-free 
1-800-332-6148 

 
Fax:  406-444-3497 

TDD Phone:  406-444-3246 
E-mail: csi@mt.gov 

 

   www.csimt.gov  
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

The Office of the Montana State Auditor, Commissioner of Securities and Insurance, attempts to provide reasonable accommodation for any known 
disability that may interfere with a person's ability to participate in any service, program or activity of the agency. Alternative accessible formats of this 
document will be provided upon request. For more information call (406) 444-2040 or TDD (406) 444-3246. 

http://www.csimt.gov/
http://www.csimt.gov/
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