

UCAA RETALIATORY STATEMENT

LIFE/HEALTH, PROPERTY/CASUALTY AND TITLE INSURERS:

Schedule of Required Amounts For Minimum Capital or Surplus

(Sec. 33-2-109, MCA)

(1) To qualify for authority to transact any one kind of insurance, as defined in 33-1-205 through 33-1-212, or combinations of kinds of insurance as shown below, an insurer shall possess and maintain unimpaired paid-in capital stock, if a stock insurer, or surplus, if a mutual or foreign reciprocal insurer, in an amount not less than is applicable under the schedules below and shall possess when first authorized to transact insurance any additional funds as surplus as required under 33-2-110:

(b) For insurers licensed on or after October 1, 1999:

Kinds or kinds of insurance	Minimum capital or surplus required
Life	\$ 600,000
Disability	500,000
Life and Disability	750,000
Credit Life and Disability	150,000
Property	500,000
Marine	500,000
Casualty:	
All lines except Workers' Compensation	500,000
All lines including Workers' Compensation	750,000
Surety	500,000
Title	500,000
Multiple lines (2 or more: property, casualty, marine	or surety) 1,000,000
Multiple lines and Disability	1,500,000

(3) Capital and surplus requirements must be based upon all the kinds of insurance actually transacted or to be transacted by the insurer in any areas in which it operates, whether or not only a portion of the kinds are to be transacted in this state.

(4) A life insurer may also grant annuities without additional capital or additional surplus.

(5) For a credit life and disability insurer that is not a resident domestic insurer as defined in 33-1-201 and 33-1-202, the capital or surplus required by this section is an

1

0

() csimt.gov

csi@mt.gov





amount equal to four times the minimum capital or surplus required for credit life and disability pursuant to subsection (1).

Special Surplus Requirements

(Sec. 33-2-110, MCA)

In addition to the minimum paid-in capital stock (stock insurers) or minimum surplus (mutual and reciprocal insurers) required by 33-2-109, special surplus shall be possessed by insurers as follows:

- (1) All insurers which have actively transacted insurance in their state of domicile as an authorized insurer for less than five (5) years, shall possess an additional surplus of one hundred percent (100%) of the capital or surplus required when first authorized in the state of Montana.
- (2) Insurers that have actively transacted insurance in one or more states for more than five (5) years, shall possess an additional surplus of fifty percent (50%) of the capital or surplus required when first authorized in the state of Montana.
- (3) After authorization, insurers authorized to transact multiple lines in the state of Montana shall at all times have and maintain surplus of not less than \$100,000 in addition to the capital or surplus requirements listed in the schedule above.

Deposit Requirements

(Sec. 33-2-111, MCA)

All insurers are required to have on deposit with the Commissioner of Insurance of the State of Montana, or with the duly authorized official of the domiciliary state, a sum of eligible securities in an amount not less than the minimum paid-in capital stock (stock insurer) or minimum surplus (mutual or reciprocal insurer) as required by 33-2-109, MCA (except a title insurer for which the deposit requirement is \$100,000), in trust for the protection of all the insurer's policyholders and creditors. Eligible securities are defined in Section 33-2-603, MCA. Securities must be valued at market value.

csimt.gov

406.444.2040

csi@mt.gov

840 Helena Avenue

Helena MT 59601

Get social with us on

60



Fees and Licenses

(Sec. 33-2-708, MCA)

CERTIFICATE OF AUTHORITY:

(1) Application for original Montana Certificate of Authority: Includes filing of	of all	
documents required with such application and for issuance of Certificate	e of Authority	
	\$1900	
(2) Annual Continuation of Certificate of Authority (due March 1)	\$1900	
(3) Reinstatement of Certificate of Authority	\$100	
No fees required for corporate filings, annual statement filing, and policy form filings		

Retaliatory Fees, Taxes, and Other Obligations

(Sec. 33-2-709, MCA)

When any taxes, licenses, other fees, in the aggregate, or fines, penalties, deposit requirements, or other material obligations, prohibitions, or restrictions imposed upon Montana insurers by the laws of any other state or foreign country are in excess of those imposed by the state of Montana, these same taxes, licenses, fees, fines, penalties, deposit requirements, other material obligations, prohibitions, or restrictions shall be imposed upon the insurers of the other state or country doing business or seeking to do business in Montana.

FRATERNAL INSURERS:

Capital, Surplus, Deposit Requirements

(Sec. 33-7-117, MCA) None

Fees (Sec. 33-7-118 and 217, MCA)

No application fees required.Fees due March 1:\$25 Annual Statement filing fee

\$10 Certificate of Authority continuation fee

0

3









HEALTH SERVICE CORPORATIONS:

Reserve Requirements

(Sec. 33-30-201, MCA)

- (1) The corporation shall maintain at all times unobligated funds adequate to: (a) provide the hospital, medical-surgical, and other health services made available to its members and beneficiaries; and (b) meet all costs and expenses.
- (2) In addition, reserves of a health service corporation in cash, certificates of deposit, obligations issued or guaranteed by the government of the United States, or other assets approved by the commissioner must be maintained in an amount not less than: (a) \$750,000; or (b) an amount equal to 1 month's average income from dues or fees paid to the corporation by its members or beneficiaries, based on an average of the preceding 12 months, whichever is less.

Fees (Sec. 33-30-204, MCA)

Application fee: Fees due March 1: Annual Statement filing fee \$300 \$300 License continuation fee \$ 25

) 406.444.2040

€) csimt.gov

4

