
NOTICE 

TO: All Captive Managers 

FROM: Captive Insurance Coordinator  
Office of the Commissioner of Securities & Insurance 
(CSI) 

SUBJECT:  Annual Reporting Instructions 
Montana-domiciled Captive Insurers 

1. Unaudited Financial Statements (Annual Statement or Annual Report)

Pursuant to Mont. Code Ann. § 33-28-107, on or before April 1 of each year, the 
captive insurer shall submit to the Commissioner, on a form prescribed by the 
Commissioner, a report of its financial condition.  Each captive insurer shall report 
using generally accepted accounting principles (GAAP).   Modifications or 
adaptations to standard GAAP accounting may be used only with the prior written 
approval of the Commissioner.    

 Non-risk retention groups (“non-RRGs”) may use the “Montana Short Form” 
for the annual filing.  The prescribed and approved “Montana Captive Insurance 
Company Annual Report” (“Montana Short Form”) can be found on the CSI website 
at CLICK HERE.  In addition, the CSI website includes a Montana Short Form for 
fiscal year filers.    

The Commissioner may impose a fine for the late filing of an annual report.  
The fine may not exceed $100 per day, and the maximum fine is $1,000.  

2. Audited Financial Statements

 Pursuant to Administrative Rules of Montana (Mont. Admin. R.) 6.6.6811, all 
nonRRG captive insurers shall have an annual audit by an independent certified 
public accountant authorized by the Commissioner and shall file such audited 
financial report with the Commissioner on or before June 30 for the year ending 
December 31 immediately preceding.    

Updated 1/2025

https://csimt.gov/wp-content/uploads/2025/01/Captive-MT-Short-Form-1.xlsx
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 The annual CPA audit report shall be considered part of the captive insurer’s annual 
report of financial condition except with respect to the date by which it must be 
filed.  

 The annual CPA audit shall consist of the following: 

a) Financial statements furnished pursuant to this section shall be examined by
an independent certified public accountant in accordance with generally
accepted auditing standards as determined by the American Institute of
Certified Public Accountants.

b) The opinion of the independent certified public accountant shall cover all the
years presented and shall be dated and addressed to the captive insurance
company on the accountant’s stationery with accountant’s address and shall
bear original manual signature.

The annual CPA audit report shall include an evaluation of the internal controls of 
the captive insurer relating to the methods and procedures used in the securing of 
assets and the reliability of the financial records, including but not limited to such 
controls as the system of authorization and approval and the separation of duties.    

The accountant shall furnish the company, for inclusion in the filing of the audited 
financial report, a letter stating:  

a) That it is independent with respect to the captive insurance company and
conforms to the standards of the profession, as contained in the Code of
Professional Ethics and pronouncements of the American Institute of Certified
Public Accountants and pronouncements of the Financial Accounting
Standards Board.

b) The general background and experience of the staff engaged in the audit
including the experience in auditing captives or other insurance companies.

c) That the accountant understands that the audited annual report and the
accountant’s opinion thereon will be filed with the CSI.

d) That the accountant consents to the requirements of Mont. Admin. R.
6.6.6819.

e) That the accountant is properly licensed by the appropriate state licensing
authority and is a member in good standing with the American Institute of
Certified Public Accountants.



Reporting Instructions – Office of the Commissioner of Securities and Insurance 
3 | P a g e 

The annual CPA audit shall include the following financial statements: 

a) Balance sheet;

b) Statement of operations;

c) Statement of changes in financial position;

d) Statement of changes in paid up, gross paid in and contributed surplus and
unassigned funds (surplus); and

e) Notes to financial statements, which shall include those that are required by
GAAP, including:

1. A reconciliation of differences, if any, between the audited financial
report and the statement or form filed with the Commissioner (i.e.,
unaudited statement).

2. A summary of ownership and relationship of the company and all
affiliated corporations or companies insured by the captive.

3. Actuarial Opinion

Pursuant to Mont. Admin. R. 6.6.6816, the annual CPA audit shall include an opinion 
as to the adequacy of the captive insurer’s loss reserves and loss expense reserves.  
The individual who certifies as to the adequacy of the reserves shall be approved by 
the Commissioner and shall be a member of the Casualty Actuarial Society, a 
member in good standing of the Academy of Actuaries, or an individual who has 
demonstrated competence in loss reserve evaluation to the Commissioner.  

The required opinion may follow the NAIC Annual Statement Instructions but is not 
required to do so.  For non-RRG opinions that do not follow the NAIC Annual 
Statement Instructions, the actuary must still state his or her “opinion” regarding 
the sufficiency of the company’s loss reserves and loss expense reserves, and the 
actuary must sign such opinion.  

4. Special Instructions for Cell Reporting

Each Protected Cell Captive Insurance Company (PCC core) and each protected cell 
(cell) affiliated with the PCC core shall file separate unaudited financial statements 
on the Montana Short Form on or before April 1st of each year.  For example, if 
there is a PCC core and two cells, then the PCC core files an unaudited financial 
statement to report its own business, and each cell files an unaudited financial 
statement to report the cell’s business.    

Each PCC core shall file “combined” audited financial statements with the CSI on or 
before June 30 of each year. The auditor shall express an opinion on the combined 
assets, liabilities, capital and surplus of the PCC core and each cell. The detailed 
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assets, liabilities, and capital and surplus balances of the PCC core and each cell 
shall be disclosed in a supplemental schedule to the financial statements.   

Each individual cell shall file an actuarial opinion, certifying the adequacy of the loss 
reserves and LAE reserves on or before June 30 of each year.  An actuarial opinion 
would also be required for the PCC core, if the PCC core is at risk, i.e., has loss 
reserves.  

5. Special Instructions for Series LLC Reporting

A Series LLC (Series core) and its series business unit(s) (SBU) may file “combined” 
unaudited financial statements on the Montana Short Form on or before April 1st of 
each year.    

Each Series core shall file “combined” audited financial statements with the CSI on 
or before June 30 of each year. The auditor shall express an opinion on the 
combined assets, liabilities, capital and surplus of the Series core and each SBU. 
The detailed assets, liabilities, and capital and surplus balances of the Series core 
and each SBU shall be disclosed in a supplemental schedule to the financial 
statements.  

Each individual SBU shall file an actuarial opinion, certifying the adequacy of the 
loss reserves and LAE reserves on or before June 30 of each year.  An actuarial 
opinion would also be required for the Series core, if the Series core is at risk, i.e., 
has loss reserves.    

6. Filing Instructions

One hard copy or electronic copy of the annual statement should be filed with the 
CSI.  Additionally, one hard copy or electronic copy of all other financial filings is 
required.  See the attached “Montana Filing Checklist for Captive Insurers” 
for further filing requirements and instructions.

For fiscal filings, click HERE. 

It is suggested that electronic filings be made through the Montana File 
Transfer Service (MFTS).  An account can be established at:  
https://transfer.mt.gov/Home/Login?
EPassError=Unauthorized&ErrorCode=Unauthorize d&ErrorMessage=You%20do%
20not%20have%20access%20to%20the%20requested %
20resource.&ReturnUrl=https%3a%2f%2ftransfer.mt.gov%2f  

When using MFTS, you will be asked to enter a receiving email address.  Please use 
the following recipient: rbidon@mt.gov  

https://transfer.mt.gov/Home/Login?EPassError=Unauthorized&ErrorCode=Unauthorized&ErrorMessage=You%20do%20not%20have%20access%20to%20the%20requested%20resource.&ReturnUrl=https%3a%2f%2ftransfer.mt.gov%2f
https://transfer.mt.gov/Home/Login?EPassError=Unauthorized&ErrorCode=Unauthorized&ErrorMessage=You%20do%20not%20have%20access%20to%20the%20requested%20resource.&ReturnUrl=https%3a%2f%2ftransfer.mt.gov%2f
https://transfer.mt.gov/Home/Login?EPassError=Unauthorized&ErrorCode=Unauthorized&ErrorMessage=You%20do%20not%20have%20access%20to%20the%20requested%20resource.&ReturnUrl=https%3a%2f%2ftransfer.mt.gov%2f
https://transfer.mt.gov/Home/Login?EPassError=Unauthorized&ErrorCode=Unauthorized&ErrorMessage=You%20do%20not%20have%20access%20to%20the%20requested%20resource.&ReturnUrl=https%3a%2f%2ftransfer.mt.gov%2f
https://transfer.mt.gov/Home/Login?EPassError=Unauthorized&ErrorCode=Unauthorized&ErrorMessage=You%20do%20not%20have%20access%20to%20the%20requested%20resource.&ReturnUrl=https%3a%2f%2ftransfer.mt.gov%2f
https://transfer.mt.gov/Home/Login?EPassError=Unauthorized&ErrorCode=Unauthorized&ErrorMessage=You%20do%20not%20have%20access%20to%20the%20requested%20resource.&ReturnUrl=https%3a%2f%2ftransfer.mt.gov%2f
http://csimt.gov/wp-content/uploads/2024/01/Captive-MT-FY-Report-2024-Short-Form.xlsx
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7. Fiscal Year Filers

Non-RRGs with a fiscal year-end other than December 31 must request and receive 
permission from the CSI to file on a basis other than December 31.  This request 
need only be made one time (companies generally request this, and are approved, 
at time of licensure), but any subsequent changes must also be approved by the 
CSI.  Filing deadlines for fiscal year filers are as follows:  unaudited statements are 
due 90 days after fiscal year-end; audited statements and actuarial opinions are 
due 180 days after fiscal year-end.  Premium tax returns for fiscal year filers 
are due March 1 as is the case for all captive insurers.  See the next section 
for additional instructions for fiscal year filers.    

8. Premium Tax Returns

All Montana-domiciled captive insurers are required to file a Montana Premium Tax  
Return in OPTins no later than March 1 of each year.  Mont. Code Ann. § 33-28-201 
allows a quarterly proration of the minimum premium tax for those captive insurers 
who were newly licensed during the tax year being filed.  

The Website instructions regarding OPTins discusses the filing of the Montana 
Premium Tax Return by the March 1st, due date.  Please read it carefully.   

Fiscal year filers shall file a Montana Premium Tax Return no later than March 1 of 
each year for the most recently completed calendar year.  This means that for 
premium tax purposes, fiscal year filers shall convert fiscal year premium data to 
calendar year data.  To support the premium tax return, a fiscal year filer shall 
attach to the premium tax return a report of monthly written premium and/or 
reinsurance assumed for the prior calendar year.  

PCC core companies shall submit a single premium tax return that combines 
premium/assumed reinsurance numbers for the PCC core and each cell.  

Series core companies shall submit a single premium tax return that combines 
premium/assumed reinsurance numbers for the Series core and each SBU.  The 
maximum premium tax of $100,000 shall be applied to each SBU of a Series LLC 
captive, rather than application of the maximum to the captive in aggregate.    

9. Certificate of Authority Renewal

Pursuant to Mont. Code Ann. § 33-28-102(4)(b), all licensed captive insurers  
(including each protected cell and each SBU) shall pay a Certificate of Authority  
(license) renewal fee of $300.  The renewal fee is incorporated into the Montana  
Premium Tax Return and payment should be remitted therewith.  The Commissioner 
may suspend or revoke a captive’s Certificate of Authority if the renewal fee is not 
paid by March 1.  
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10. Dormant Captives

Pursuant to Mont. Code Ann. § 33-28-401 a dormant captive insurer shall:  

• On or before March 1, pay a $1,000 annual dormancy tax.  Please use
the Dormancy Tax Return in OPTins to report and remit the dormancy
tax.

• No later than April 1, submit to the Commissioner a report of the
dormant captive’s financial condition as of the preceding year end,
verified by oath of two of its executive officers, in a form as may be
prescribed by the Commissioner.  Please use the Montana Short Form in
#1 above.

11. CSI Contacts for Questions Regarding Filings

Captives Division
(406) 444-3513
csi.captives@mt.gov
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Montana Filing Checklist for Captive Insurers 

UNADUITED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS 

Annual Financial Statement: 4/1 √ √ √ 

AUDITED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS 

Audited Financial Statements: 6/30 √ √* * 
Report of Evaluation of Internal Controls: 6/30 √ √* * 
Accountants Letter: 6/30 √ √* * 

ACTUARIAL OPINION 

Statement of Actuarial Opinion: 6/30 √ √** √** 

OTHER REQUIRED FILINGS 

Premium Tax Return: 3/1 √ √*** *** 
Certificate of Authority Renewal Fee: 3/1 √ √ √ 

√  Denotes required filing. 
* Each Protected Cell Captive (PCC core) and Series LLC (Series core) must file a

"combined" audited financial statement.  Refer to "Reporting Instructions"
memo.

** Each PCC core must file individual actuarial opinions for each cell and the PCC
core (if applicable).  Refer to "Reporting Instructions" memo.

** Each Series core must file individual actuarial opinions for each SBU and the
Series core (if applicable). Refer to "Reporting Instructions" memo.

***  Each PCC core and Series core must file a combined Premium Tax Return.  Refer 
to "Reporting Instructions" memo. 

Note:  For captives using a non-calendar year (fiscal year), the due dates in the above 
checklist do not apply, except for the premium tax return and Certificate of 
Authority Renewal fee.  Refer to "Reporting Instructions" memo. 
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